Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I was actually surprised how much I did not care for this. I followed the recipe exactly other than using cheese tortellini instead of rotini pasta. I did not like the sauce. It tasted exactly the same as if I would have just poured a bottle of ranch dressing on top, which was just strange to me. It tasted more like salad that was missing lettuce. I will definitely make this again using a DIFFERENT kind of sauce base, either a vinegar/balsamic sauce or more of a regular pasta salad/mayo type that is thicker and doesn't have such a strong ranch flavor. And I like ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA
Photo by liane
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I love this recipe!! It's perfect for cookouts , parties and makes a great lunch !!! I topped it with more shredded cheddar and crumbled bacon to make it look pretty !! Delish !!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
We liked this. I added a few small pepperoni (quartered). I chose to leave out the tomato to make the salad last a bit longer in the frig. We can always add tomatoes at the table. I used regular and lite mayo together. It is a versatile recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
We love this! I just use sweet grape tomoatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gesikale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made this as a side dish for my nephew's 6th birthday and it received rave reviews from children and adults. I did change things up based on other suggestions and make a little healthy. Instead of using plain pasta I used veggie pasta. I substituted half of the mayonnaise with sour cream. Replaced the garlic powder and garlic pepper with 1/2 tsp minced garlic and ground pepper and added a bag of frozen peas. And cubed the cheese for a different texture. Used Colby jack since that was what was on hand. Plus I only used 7 strips of bacon three disappeared before I made the salad. Next time I will use buttermilk for the plain milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Atkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mucknort
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I rate the recipe 4 stars, but here's what I do to bring it up to a 5 (many dozens of potluckers agree): *Paul Newman's Ranch dressing right out of the bottle. I don't have to mess with ratios of milk/mayo/sour cream/etc., and it is one of the few Ranch products that doesn't contain MSG. *1 to 2 cups of chopped baby spinach. Sturdy flavorful leaf that doesn't wilt over time. *Real Bacon bits, 10 - 20 T, add to taste. Not enough bacon may be one reason a few feel this recipe is bland. *1 T minced garlic instead of powder. *1/2 to 1 whole bunch of diced (I use scissors) scallions. *1/2 c sun dried tomatoes (purchased dry, soaked in hot water for 5 min. before dicing). *1/2 to 1 pint grape (or cherry) tomatoes sliced in half or thirds hold up better than a chopped whole tom *for extra zing add 1 2.25 oz can of diced chili peppers or 1/4 cup of diced banana peppers. * I find stirring all "dry" ingredients together first before adding ranch dressing makes mixing easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Love this Recipe! Easily adaptable to what you have on hand. I always add carrot shreds, green pepper, red onion, black olives and cherry tomatoes to mine. (Love Pasta salad with tons of veggies) I also half the mayo and substitute the other half with sour cream and I use fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe was a hit at my backyard BBQ! My husband took the leftovers to work the next day and said it was even better the next day. When doubling the recipe, I would suggest buying 3 packets of the dry ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Better the 2nd day. I read 15 to 20 reviews before making this and the most common remarks/negatives about this salad were "bland" & "salty". Still, I was intrigued enough to try (thinking BLT, but BPT), so I thought long and hard about what changes would need to be made to address "bland" and "salty". Starting with the 2 boxes of pasta, I cooked it al dente. Drained and rinsed in cold water, then dumped in large bowl with ice and water to cool quickly. Drained on linen towel and refrigerated. Then I whisked together (double) 1 cup mayonnaise AND 1 cup sour cream, 2 pkgs ranch dressing mix, 2 cloves of minced garlic & 1 tsp fresh cracked pepper. Then I whisked in milk. I let this sit in the refrigerator for 2 hours because i know with powdered ranch dressings, if you try to eat the dressing immediately after mixing, it's gritty and very salty and bland. I fried 1.5 lbs of bacon and refrigerated. 2 hours before party time, I mixed the pasta with the sauce, then I crumbled the bacon adding it with the black olives, unsliced,whole grape tomatoes and sharp cheddar cheese. I have to say, I was surprised how bland the salad was. However, people really enjoyed it. In the meantime, while everyone ate, bite after bite I tried to figure out what I could have done differently. The answer came the day after the party upon eating a bowl of leftovers. Surprise! It was full of flavor! I was afraid to make this the day before worrying the bacon would be soggy and salad too dry, but it wasn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States