Bacon Quiche Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
It's very good and I will definitely make it again but I think I would make a few changes. Add the cheese to the muffin cup as you are filling them so you can make sure each quiche had cheese in it. The cheese sort of liked to sit at the bottom and the first filled weren't very cheesy. You could add a little green pepper to some cups and not to others, could also add mushrooms or change some to sausage instead of bacon. That would easily give a variety if you were bringing them somewhere. My husband even added a little hotsauce to the top of his since he likes things a little zestier. They're easy, tasty and look wonderful...give them a try and be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These were a big hit at an office brunch. They look very impressive but are easy to make. I doubled all ingredients to make 16 tarts and it worked perfectly. Some cooking notes: I beat the milk into the cream cheese first and then beat in the eggs with an electric mixer. Instead of chopping some onion, I used a couple pinches of onion powder and omitted the green pepper altogether since it was for a large group. I wasn't sure how full to fill the muffin holes with the egg mixture so I filled them to just under the top of the pastry. They puff up over the sides and look great when they come out. I baked for the minimum time of 18 minutes and didn't think they needed any more time. Also, I made these the night before and stored them in tupperware all night. I served them at room temperature and they were still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These tasted GREAT! I made these for my husband’s holiday party. I didn’t use green peppers and lessened the cream cheese a bit, used 16 oz instead of 18 oz for 3 batches. I was able to make 32 mini muffins and 12 regular sized muffins with the 3 batches of batter and used up an entire package of bacon. The cream cheese didn’t overpower the taste at all, neither did the egg, it was a perfect blend. They were so moist and looked impressive. I did find, however, that it took more time than I thought it would because of cooking the bacon and chopping that up (maybe I just haven’t mastered that yet). They take less than a minute to heat up. Oh, and I would make sure to mix the batter immediately before scooping into the pan because the cheese definitely does sink. And finally, I found it a little difficult to mold the triangular shapes into the cups.. but it worked out because you can’t really tell where the crescent ends and the egg mixture begins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
These are phenomenal! For just a little effort they taste amazing and look beautiful. I make these in a mini muffin tin (12 min. cook time) for brunches, I also make batches to be re-heated for breakfast at home, they re-heat very well after 15-25 sec.s at 50% power in the microwave. The original recipe is a little bland for me, so I added about a 1/4 tsp each salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the egg mix. I also drop cubed cheese in the bottom with the meat so you can taste it and use less. I usually use egg whites, red fat crescents, and lite cream cheese but you can't tell. I've made a variety of mixes of meats and veggies and they all work, you can decorate the top with small pieces of the filling ingredients. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good, but like most of the others, there are changes that I would make. First of all, I would use less cream cheese and one extra egg. The cream cheese was a little overpowering. I think I'll use swiss cheese next time and maybe add some chives. You could almost add anything, and it would still be delicious. I did have a lot of extra filling, so I definitely reccommend getting two packages of crescent rolls. But overall, great....I can't wait to experiment with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THERRERA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
OOPS! I thought it said 1 1/2 cups of colby cheese! Guess what..it still came out great! These were so easy to make but looked like a masterpiece. My family was impressed and loved it. I left out the green pepper and used the colby monterey jack cheese mix. Fool proof recipe. I will submit the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THERRERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was more time consuming than I had anticipated but it was delicious and they also looked so cute! Will be making them as special treats for breakfast. As a side note, they freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I made these this afternoon and they were a hit with friends and family! very good and easy-peasy. I made them with turkey bacon, reduced fat crescent rolls, reduced fat cheese, fat free cream cheese and a dash of garlic in addition to the onion. No one could tell they were a healthier version they tasted so yummy! I'll definitely be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These are truly awesome! I just made some as a trial to see if I could serve them for a baby shower brunch I'm having, and they are not only delicious but also very beautiful in appearance. The only thing I did differently was I used chive & onion cream cheese.. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
EXCELLENT! The cream cheese gives these tarts a wonderful texture. It's a very versatile recipe; I made half as written, and with another batch I doubled the amount of eggs, omitted the bacon, used swiss instead of cheddar, added a 10 oz package of spinach and a finely chopped package of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States