Bacon, Potato and Cheese Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This recipe wasn't so great, it was obvious there would be problems just by reading it. No seasoning and the way they did the bacon was sure to leave a lot of unwanted grease, so I fixed it so it works much better. I made it in a pie pan and used a bottom pie crust. I cut the bacon while raw into small strips about 1 inch and cooked them first then dried with a paper towel. I used a mandolin slicer to slice the potatoes which made them cook much more evenly. I layered the paper thin potatoes with the crumpled bacon, cheese and I added sweet onion also sliced with the mandolin. Add just a pinch of sea salt, black pepper and italian (or french) mixed herbs. If you can't find fontina just use shredded swiss. This came out so flavorful and tender without the greasy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Loved this recipe! I did add onions and some more spices but outer than that I didn't change anything! Make sure you slice the potatoes nice and thin and you'll be good to go. I even loved the fontina cheese, it was all delicious. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelbyL

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this last nite.It was great! A meal in Itself! I did put the beaten egg on the first layer and used cheddarjack cheese. next time I will add broccoli. No need for a anything else with it!! But do cover the top with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was delicious! I made it with my Kitchen Aid mixer using the Slicer&Shredder attachment. SOOOOO easy!! Just slice up onions, potatoes and cheese all into one bowl and toss. Skip the butter you don't need it. I used swiss cheese too because it was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. Not for those looking for a light grease free dish though;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I put this into a baked crust in a tart pan & served with sour cream on the side. Very, very good & a nice change from a plain old baked potato. I served this for my morther-in-law's birthday & she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I decided to try this and once I did my kids went crazy over it! I have to make it at least once a week now. I do add a bit of milk to the potatoes and add onions in with the potatoes and cheese for extra flavor. I've used different kinds of cheese and think I'll try turkey bacon to try and cut down on some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Will make again, but will add some onions and will be sure to put the bacon on top so it actually cooks and the fat seeps downward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Bacon, Potatoes and Cheese. How can it be bad? The taste was great and I received a lot of compliments. Everyone loved this. I did have a couple small problems that I will keep in mind when making this again. The butter, although only 1 Tbs. is not necessary and only adds to the bacon grease that pools on the top/sides. I had to drain A LOT of grease from these before taking to the table. I didn't use 18 slices of bacon, closer to 12, but should have expected this. The baking time was approx. 20 min longer in my oven and could have stood 5 - 10 min longer but everything else was done and waiting so I just went with it. The bacon on the bottom was not crisp or brown at all. Next time, I think I will just arrange the bacon across the top. I will also add more cheese next time. The fontina got a little lost. Most of these things can be fixed easily and as much as everyone commented on these, I will definately be making them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Simple and delicious. I just used cheddar, and it did take a little longer to cook, but I just covered it with foil and turned the temp. down for the last little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States