Bacon, Potato and Cheese Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Bacon, Potatoes and Cheese. How can it be bad? The taste was great and I received a lot of compliments. Everyone loved this. I did have a couple small problems that I will keep in mind when making this again. The butter, although only 1 Tbs. is not necessary and only adds to the bacon grease that pools on the top/sides. I had to drain A LOT of grease from these before taking to the table. I didn't use 18 slices of bacon, closer to 12, but should have expected this. The baking time was approx. 20 min longer in my oven and could have stood 5 - 10 min longer but everything else was done and waiting so I just went with it. The bacon on the bottom was not crisp or brown at all. Next time, I think I will just arrange the bacon across the top. I will also add more cheese next time. The fontina got a little lost. Most of these things can be fixed easily and as much as everyone commented on these, I will definately be making them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Like most reviews I've read on this site, this recipe was changed a little. I used cheddar instead of fontina and I poured 2 beaten eggs (mixed w/milk) over the first layer of potatoes (I customized the recipe for 2 people). It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I pre-cooked and mashed the potatoes before mixing in the other ingredients (specifically the cheese) and baking. I also used HAM instead of bacon. The FLAVORS melded wonderfully. Turned out to be a genuinely nice side dish to my Porterhouse Steak (my husband's boss, his wide + 2 others) presentations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had a little trouble with this recipe. It took way loger to cook than stated and my bacon started to burn on the edges before it was done in the center, so that I had to cover the edges with foil. Still, the flavor was really good and I think I can rig it to work. I'll update you when I try it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Wow this was great. How can you go wrong with bacon and potatoes? ;) I used a throw away loaf pan which worked nicely for the bacon. It folded over the potatoes perfectly and looked beautiful when I pulled it from the oven. I thinly sliced the potatoes and sprinkled with salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder with a light sprinkle of parm cheese. I made to accompany steaks but this would be great with breakfast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI8878

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Simple and delicious. I just used cheddar, and it did take a little longer to cook, but I just covered it with foil and turned the temp. down for the last little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I wasn't too crazy about it however, my boyfriend loved it. The bacon cooked up beatufully and it looked terrific when it came out of the oven. I think it was the fontina I wasn't keen on. I might try it again sometime with cheddar. I would recommend using a little salt and a good amt. of pepper on the potato layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I put this into a baked crust in a tart pan & served with sour cream on the side. Very, very good & a nice change from a plain old baked potato. I served this for my morther-in-law's birthday & she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I didn't have trouble with the potatoes baking, although I did expect it. Not sure if it's the type of potatoes I used (small red potatoes) or how thinly I sliced them (I used a mandoline) but they were done in the stated hour. I did bake them covered on the bottom shelf of the oven during that hour. I used turkey bacon since that's what we have. I don't consider this a side dish--it's more of a filling main dish to me! With some veggies it's definitely a full meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was delicious! I made it with my Kitchen Aid mixer using the Slicer&Shredder attachment. SOOOOO easy!! Just slice up onions, potatoes and cheese all into one bowl and toss. Skip the butter you don't need it. I used swiss cheese too because it was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States