Bacon, Potato and Cheese Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Very tasty. My family enjoyed it. Not good if you are watching calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
My family loved this! Indeed, it isn't low cal, but it's worth the splurge! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I wasn't too crazy about it however, my boyfriend loved it. The bacon cooked up beatufully and it looked terrific when it came out of the oven. I think it was the fontina I wasn't keen on. I might try it again sometime with cheddar. I would recommend using a little salt and a good amt. of pepper on the potato layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Very good, however I had to cook almost twice as long as they recommended in my gas oven. No one wants raw bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Like most reviews I've read on this site, this recipe was changed a little. I used cheddar instead of fontina and I poured 2 beaten eggs (mixed w/milk) over the first layer of potatoes (I customized the recipe for 2 people). It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had a little trouble with this recipe. It took way loger to cook than stated and my bacon started to burn on the edges before it was done in the center, so that I had to cover the edges with foil. Still, the flavor was really good and I think I can rig it to work. I'll update you when I try it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I pre-cooked and mashed the potatoes before mixing in the other ingredients (specifically the cheese) and baking. I also used HAM instead of bacon. The FLAVORS melded wonderfully. Turned out to be a genuinely nice side dish to my Porterhouse Steak (my husband's boss, his wide + 2 others) presentations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was wonderful, don't need to add the butter, the fat from the bacon does a good job, i used swiss and fetta cheeses and then 2nd time i made it used farmers cheese and swiss, both times was great, a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I served this to our gourmet club and everyone asked for the recipe. But, I used turkey bacon for one of the pies and added a little butter on top before cooking. It was great. Actually, some of the people who tasted the pork bacon version and the turkey bacon version liked the turkey better. As the potato pie cooled, the turkey bacon held the pie together to a point that people picked up a piece and ate it like a tart. I had sliced it in small pieces so people could try both. I'd like to try it again in a 9 x 11 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Wow this was great. How can you go wrong with bacon and potatoes? ;) I used a throw away loaf pan which worked nicely for the bacon. It folded over the potatoes perfectly and looked beautiful when I pulled it from the oven. I thinly sliced the potatoes and sprinkled with salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder with a light sprinkle of parm cheese. I made to accompany steaks but this would be great with breakfast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI8878

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States