Bacon Mushroom Swiss Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This meatloaf is great. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used 1/4c to 1/2c of mushroom soup. I also had to replace the cereal with bread crumbs. I added another can of soup to the part can leftover mushroom soup and used it as a gravy when it was served. It was a big success. 2nd time making it I added a package of Liptons garlic onion soup mix and it was fantastic,I will never have plain old anymore. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I have been looking at this recipe for nearly a month and wanted to try it, but I could not convince my fiance as he is not a big fan of onions or mushrooms. Well he finally gave in and I made it tonight for the first time. It wasn't the over the top bam in my mouth that I expected but it was yummy to me. He wasn't overly thrilled with it but he did say it wasn't as bad as he expected. I only made a few minor changes and those were to use fewer and finely chopped mushrooms, only 1/2 of a small onion, added a bit of worchestire sauce and a little garlic powder. I added sliced cheese to the top instead of shredded but that was due to looks more than anything. Good recipe, will try again and will play with it more as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m4k2004

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opp, Alabama, USA
Living In: East Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This meatloaf was good, but it was really heavy. We could only eat a little of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
LOVE THIS!!! Had to use less mushrooms and onions than I would have liked (my sis doesn't like them), but it still turned out great!!! CHANGES: Added a tbs or so of onion soup mix, used bread crumbs and crushed ritz, added fresh pepper to the onion and mushroom mix while cooking in bacon grease. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I'm not a huge meatloaf fan, but this is absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I tried this recipe awhile ago so I don't remember all the changes I made, but I guess this is an example of why people don't like reviews after changes were made to the recipe! I think I took too much of other people's suggestions/review changes. It seems that the recipe itself would probably not turn out the way mine did. I added some salt and pepper, garlic powder, garlic, and did the cubed cheese thing. All of which ended up making my meatloaf WAYYY too salty. My friends said it was okay, and I normally like some salt in my food, but it was even too salty for me. I gave it 4 stars bc I'm sure it would have turned out fine had I not added so much other stuff! I think the pepper and some minced garlic is good but no more salt! The bacon is already salty enough! What was I thinking?! And I think the shredded cheese would have been fine too. Sorry for screwing w/ the recipe! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I agree with what many before me have said--too blah. Definitely needs more kick. I may try it again using some of the suggestions of garlic powder, salt & pepper, worcestershire sauce, etc. I may even try powdered ranch dressing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was the BEST meat loaf I have EVER made!!!!! well It was my first meat load, but we have tried every one elses, and this was MY favorite! I used milk instead of the evaporated milk! I also put fresh garlic in it! I just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nason

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States