Bacon Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
OH EM GEE! This is GEE OH OH DEE! (Sorry, I usually don't do that ;D)! What a surprising dish! I "steamlined " this baby - with leftovers. I had leftover (sliced) chicken parmesan (not the sauce, just the chicken breaded with parmesan). It was from My Mom's Parmesan Chicken - ChristyJ (I changed it some & that's in the review btw). I had enough chicken for FOUR (this recipe is for two) servings. 'Heated that up in a T butter & a T olive oil with a, just one, teaspoon seasoning salt. Two seemed way too much for four servings. I sauteed two mini portabellos & 2 cloves garlic in a T butter the day before. Added two tablespoons cooked crumbled bacon & refrigerated it. When the chicken was almost heated, I added the mushrooms. A minute later added the cream, which was actually half cream, half 2% milk. It didn't need thickening & I don't think it was because of the chicken. I just think there was so little of it, the heat took care of thickening. No baking! Love that! Very fancy tasting dish - & I love fancytasting food. 'Think I'll use 1T bacon next time. It was kinda salty & I'm thinking it wasn't the seasoning salt teaspoon. Maybe just needed more chicken. :? :) If I'm not feeding the kids with this one next time, I'll add a T or two of wine with the cream. Mmmm! 'Probably add more cream/milk, too. OH, both kids, 12 & 14, ate it. Wow. 'Said to do without the shrooms next time. Okay. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Fantastic!!! I used double the bacon but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Delicious! I chopped the bacon and used the mushrooms in the cream sauce. I did add a bit of flour also with the heavy whipping cream and it turned out perfect. I also used chicken thighs instead of the breasts and they were very moist and easy to debone for serving. So glad I came across this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Most likely, I did something wrong with this recipe. It just didn't taste as good as I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
My husband literally licked his plate clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe was just okay. I convinced my husband and son to let me have another try at it. The second time I made it again, but I changed the recipe dramaticly. The loved it, and told me to add it to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
My whole family loved this...picky eaters and all. Even my daughter who hates mushrooms loved it. Thanks for a wonderful recipe and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used this recipe as a base to create my own sauce and it turned out wonderfully. I pan sauted my chicken breasts and made the sauce seperately with pancetta bacon, shallots and mushrooms in heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was very good~ But I did make a few alterations, I doubled the recipe to make 4 chicken breast, used Garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, 5 slices of bacon layed over the chicken, 2 cans button mushrooms, a whole pint of heavy cream (we loved the gravy). For the gravy I thickened it by using a table spoon of flour at a time while wisking until it got to my desired thickness. Added minced up bacon to the gravy, salt and pepper to taste. My husband said he wasn't hungry then seen the plate I had prepared for him and instantly started eating! We really enjoyed this and will make it again~ with more BACON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My chicken did not look at all like the picture! I thought it was going to be chicken with a thick creamy sauce. I used half and half, but that has never been a problem in other recipes. But, my chicken made very little sauce reguardless and it was: greasy, salty, and thin. The bacon also never crisped up and was soggy. I served it with rice and that was good with a little of the sauce. The chicken was also too salty and bacony to use in other recipes which I thought to do to save it. This just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States