Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Very nice salad, however I didn't find the lettuce. I assume you serve it over a bed of chopped lettuce. I also added halved cherry tomatoes (kept it cleaner and tidy) and diced hard-boiled eggs (my husband's request). I also included some fresh dill (our love). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Really enjoyed this. The only change I made was to use grape tomatoes and cut them into quarters....no need to seed. Reminds me of the traditional Midwestern macaroni salad my grandmother made when I was a kid. This is no nonsense....no relish, no red or green peppers, no pimentos, no eggs and no sugar. I'm sure you could add one or more of the above BUT there is no need for it. The green onion makes the salad crunchy and the last minutes addition of the bacon makes this a true winner. I will repeat what another reviewers said, "I will never again buy premade grocery store macaroni salad". Additionally, a nice change from the oil and vinegar-based pasta salads that I have been making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I liked this recipe very much! I'm always counting my calories so I used light mayo, nobody noticed the difference, try it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this for a baby shower and everybody liked it. How often does that happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I made this to take to a pot luck supper and it was the first and only salad that was gone. I had several people ask for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for the pasta. I used bowties because that was what I had on hand. Very good year round salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Okay, this is like the best food ever. The husband, who is not a fan of macaroni salads loved it. I made no changes to the recipe and it was delicious. I was thinking I might add a seeded cucumber next time, but it is perfect as is. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I used cut cherry tomatoes cut in half and more celery than the original recipe. Everyone loved it! Might turn out to be my favorite pasta salad. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Very good Recipes although a little lacking in some mandatory ingredients. In addition to the above, I added chopped dill pickles and 1 jalapeno chopped and deveined. I used red wine vinegar instead and I also added marinated green olives. This is the best Macaroni Salad ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
A really nice twist on pasta salad! I usually make either tuna mac or ham-n-cheese, but wanted a change. This fit the bill perfectly. I did cut back on the vinegar and added a little sugar when whisking the dressing just to cut the acid a tad. Love this recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harvshoney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this as a side to go with Cheeseburgers that my husband made on the grill. Absolutely delicious. I used precooked bacon to make it quick and easy and left out the vinegar. Definitely not a diet food, but what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States