Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I had been reading about Bacon Jam on different websites (especially for gourmet hamburger topping) and found a site that sold it...but wanted to make my own and was thrilled when I saw this recipe! I reduced the recipe to 8 servings, used white balsamic vinegar (didn't have sherry vinegar), used powdered coffee (Starbucks Via) instead of brewed coffee and added water for substitute), also didn't read recipe directions at end and added ketchup with rest of ingredients and let it cook. Used an immersion blender while it was still warm and couldn't wait to taste it. WOW is all I have to say. Hubby & I are both thinking about all the different ways we can use this. It has a nice amount of sweetness, spice and bite (from cayenne) to go on just about anything. Next time I'm making the full recipe!!! Thank you so much, Cheryl! It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My daughter is allergic to maple, any suggestions? I could use corn syrup for the sweetness, but do I need anything extra flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
So I thought I had plenty of time to make this, but I should have allowed about two hours. The house still smells wonderful and we can't wait to take this to a party tomorrow. I completely cooked the bacon and removed it to drain then fried the onion in bacon grease. The finished product doesn't feel greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is Great! I have made it twice and shared at some family gatherings and with friends they they love it! Try the Jim Beams Honey Whiskey with this recipe and it is very good! Since you will be putting this in a food processor at the end, bacon ends and pieces works very well. Just trim off some of the big pieces of fat before you fry it. This is not a quick recipe and it is worth every minute you spend on it. It is great on scrambled eggs, egg casseroles, bread, muffins and much more! Very addictive. Thank you for the recipe, I will definitely be using this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved it! great with grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My family has a big Family Cook-off every year, I tried this on the folks in my office; we tried it with everything from crackers to salmon. I asked them to choose between this and the Candied Bacon Pigs (also a yummy recipe) With their unanimous slobbering votes I took it to my cook-off where I won 1st place in appetizers. I pretty much followed the recipe, I used apple-wood bacon because I found some on sale and my store was out of sherry vinegar so I used Chianti Wine vinegar the 2nd time. This is going to be a new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is delicious. However, it took me almost 3 times longer to cook it than the recipe says. Not sure why. It is worth the work. Very easy, just time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan McEntyre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
this recipe is very good. When I make it the next time, I will drain all the fat before adding the onions. I drained almost the whole 1/2 cup of bacon fat from the finished jam. It was quite greasy. other than that, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Good stuff, and I took the advice of a couple reviewers. I poured off almost all the bacon drippings - there was still enough fat to sautee the onions. I also added the ketchup with the rest of the liquids, but I may omit it all together next time. The recipe is veering close to a sweet BBQ sauce and I think it would allow the bacon to shine through a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I had a little grilled porterhouse steak left over from dinner last night, so I sliced it down, and spread the slider roll with the bacon jam. Unusual combination of ingredients, and the punch of flavor from the cayenne is spot on. Once refrigerated, it's a little difficult to spread, but a short reheat in the microwave brings it back to spreading consistency. This recipe may not be for everybody, but we enjoyed it. It's definitely "outside the box."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States