Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is Great! I have made it twice and shared at some family gatherings and with friends they they love it! Try the Jim Beams Honey Whiskey with this recipe and it is very good! Since you will be putting this in a food processor at the end, bacon ends and pieces works very well. Just trim off some of the big pieces of fat before you fry it. This is not a quick recipe and it is worth every minute you spend on it. It is great on scrambled eggs, egg casseroles, bread, muffins and much more! Very addictive. Thank you for the recipe, I will definitely be using this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This recipe failed to deliver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
this recipe is very good. When I make it the next time, I will drain all the fat before adding the onions. I drained almost the whole 1/2 cup of bacon fat from the finished jam. It was quite greasy. other than that, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I had never had bacon jam and kept seeing it on different programs and thought it was a delicious idea. Maybe it was because of my preconceived notion that the bacon would really shine through and the spread would be nice and smoky. It ended up tasting more like bacon sloppy joe mix, or barbecue sause and being REALLY sweet, and I didn't even add all of the ketchup. I don't think it's a bad recipe, I just think it's too sweet for my palate. Mine was also considerably greasy. I drained all of the bacon emptied all of the grease aside from probably a tablespoon or two, definitely nowhere near a half cup. The grease rose to the top and looks a mess, my hope is I can scoop a good amount of it off once its completely cooled in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe, it was fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My daughter is allergic to maple, any suggestions? I could use corn syrup for the sweetness, but do I need anything extra flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My family has a big Family Cook-off every year, I tried this on the folks in my office; we tried it with everything from crackers to salmon. I asked them to choose between this and the Candied Bacon Pigs (also a yummy recipe) With their unanimous slobbering votes I took it to my cook-off where I won 1st place in appetizers. I pretty much followed the recipe, I used apple-wood bacon because I found some on sale and my store was out of sherry vinegar so I used Chianti Wine vinegar the 2nd time. This is going to be a new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
So I thought I had plenty of time to make this, but I should have allowed about two hours. The house still smells wonderful and we can't wait to take this to a party tomorrow. I completely cooked the bacon and removed it to drain then fried the onion in bacon grease. The finished product doesn't feel greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Good stuff, and I took the advice of a couple reviewers. I poured off almost all the bacon drippings - there was still enough fat to sautee the onions. I also added the ketchup with the rest of the liquids, but I may omit it all together next time. The recipe is veering close to a sweet BBQ sauce and I think it would allow the bacon to shine through a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved it! great with grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made this yesterday, and while it is quite tasty it is also a little acidic. I would add the ketchup with all the other liquid ingredients so that the acidity cooks out rather than only letting it cook for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States