Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
this recipe is very good. When I make it the next time, I will drain all the fat before adding the onions. I drained almost the whole 1/2 cup of bacon fat from the finished jam. It was quite greasy. other than that, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I had never had bacon jam and kept seeing it on different programs and thought it was a delicious idea. Maybe it was because of my preconceived notion that the bacon would really shine through and the spread would be nice and smoky. It ended up tasting more like bacon sloppy joe mix, or barbecue sause and being REALLY sweet, and I didn't even add all of the ketchup. I don't think it's a bad recipe, I just think it's too sweet for my palate. Mine was also considerably greasy. I drained all of the bacon emptied all of the grease aside from probably a tablespoon or two, definitely nowhere near a half cup. The grease rose to the top and looks a mess, my hope is I can scoop a good amount of it off once its completely cooled in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe, it was fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My daughter is allergic to maple, any suggestions? I could use corn syrup for the sweetness, but do I need anything extra flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My family has a big Family Cook-off every year, I tried this on the folks in my office; we tried it with everything from crackers to salmon. I asked them to choose between this and the Candied Bacon Pigs (also a yummy recipe) With their unanimous slobbering votes I took it to my cook-off where I won 1st place in appetizers. I pretty much followed the recipe, I used apple-wood bacon because I found some on sale and my store was out of sherry vinegar so I used Chianti Wine vinegar the 2nd time. This is going to be a new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
So I thought I had plenty of time to make this, but I should have allowed about two hours. The house still smells wonderful and we can't wait to take this to a party tomorrow. I completely cooked the bacon and removed it to drain then fried the onion in bacon grease. The finished product doesn't feel greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Good stuff, and I took the advice of a couple reviewers. I poured off almost all the bacon drippings - there was still enough fat to sautee the onions. I also added the ketchup with the rest of the liquids, but I may omit it all together next time. The recipe is veering close to a sweet BBQ sauce and I think it would allow the bacon to shine through a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved it! great with grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made this yesterday, and while it is quite tasty it is also a little acidic. I would add the ketchup with all the other liquid ingredients so that the acidity cooks out rather than only letting it cook for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
WOW Just made this jam.Hasn't even cooled yet and I can't quit tasting it.The only thing I would change is brown bacon and degrease it well.The final product was quite greasy.I plan on pulling the grease off when it's cooled,If there's any left...lol IT'S A KEEPER IN MY HOUSE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I had a little grilled porterhouse steak left over from dinner last night, so I sliced it down, and spread the slider roll with the bacon jam. Unusual combination of ingredients, and the punch of flavor from the cayenne is spot on. Once refrigerated, it's a little difficult to spread, but a short reheat in the microwave brings it back to spreading consistency. This recipe may not be for everybody, but we enjoyed it. It's definitely "outside the box."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States