Bacon-Glazed Grilled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
these were good--an unusual appetizer. Just make sure the bacon isn't too fatty or it will be hard to chew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made these in the oven and poured the marinade right over it. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Great recipe! Because of fear of flare-ups, hubby covered the grill grate w/ foil & then cooked the onions on it. The glaze ran off the foil & did cause a small flare-up so that was smart thinking on his part. Be warned...these are not a finger appetizer, you'll need a knife & fork to eat these. Next time, I will try cutting the wedges & the bacon in smaller pieces & skewer them w/ toothpicks & see if they can't be just popped in your mouth that way. Everybody loved these...thnaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I was going to cook these on the grill as the recipe states, but it was so hot today, I decided to do them in the oven. I sliced the onion wedges quite thinly, and wrapped them in half a slice of regular bacon. I used half the amount of molasses and sugar, and they were ready in about 25mins. They didn't look particularly appetizing, but they tasted delicious! Will definitely be making them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Made this yesterday for a family bbq and it was a hit with all! We even made extra marinade and used it for some shrimp. Looking forward to trying it on chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I thought these were excellent. The middle part of the onion was still a little crunchy, which I loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These were just OK. I probably won't make again. The bacon did make the fire on the grill flame up and burn them, and I watched them carefully. I only used three layers of onion in my chunks, as another reviewer suggested and they still were not even close after 20 minutes. I'm a little sad. The 3 stars are for the flavors, they blend beautifully, but I might try the flavors in a different dish altogether. Thanks for the recipe, Southern Living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Love it! It's super simple and makes a great appetizer while barbequeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle TX Deuce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These are so good. I also used a whole piece of thick cut bacon (I didn't see the part about cut in half). I only had time for them to marinade for about 30 minutes, and we grilled on indirect heat. We only lost one piece of bacon to the flames, but the crispy pieces were the best. My only complaint was after 30 minutes my onions were still not done. I will try using a smaller onion next time as well as cutting the bacon in half. I used the molasses and wouldn't leave it out as I think the sweatness is what made this so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States