Bacon for the Family or a Crowd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The bacon took way longer than the recipe stated. Easy clean up, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My favorite way to cook bacon. I like to lightly sprinkle with brown sugar before baking. The pan I use is one of those roasting things with the drip catcher bottom and the slotted top - it works great and drains the bacon automatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My mother showed me how to cook bacon this way years ago. I don't preheat my oven though. I line my cookie sheet pan with foil and lay down the bacon, preferably not touching the sides. I put it in the oven and set the temp on 400. I set the timer according to the thickness of the bacon. Thick sliced is usually set around 18 to 20 minutes and thin sliced around 15 to 18 minutes. You may have to experiment a little on your oven to get the right time. I check on it close to the end to make sure it's not burning and I never turn it. Once done, I carefully take it out the oven to avoid any grease spills and then place the bacon on paper towels. I also put a paper towel over the top and press very lightly to remove as much grease as possible. Works like a charm every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is the way we did bacon for our Canadian Thanksgiving for breakfast the next morning. There was 20 of us and the bacon was done in a snap. When cooking for a crowd, this is the only way to go. Oh, but we didn't line the cookie sheet. I didn't know this till now, but it would have been a quicker clean up. Oh and I didn't turn it either but it was a convection oven.. Mmmmmmmm, bacon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
The ONLY way to cook bacon! Even if you are a family of one, like me. I, too, use a rack, but still line the pan with foil for easier cleanup. My favorite: make a mixture of brown sugar and a little cayenne (or any chili powder, ancho is good) and press into both sides before baking. Delicious, perfect bacon, whether plain or "candied."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have also used this recipe for years. I also sprinkle sugar on the bacon, but I cook it in the oven on grill pan so The grease drains off. I love my bacon crispy and grease "free".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have been cooking bacon this way for years, but I heat my oven to 400 degrees if it's regular cut bacon, or 425 degrees if it's thick cut. Thin takes 12 to 15 minutes, thick, closer to 20. I also use a broiler pan, lightly sprayed. If it's just my husband and I, I use my toster over, more than that, I use my regular one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I use the slotted oven pan to drain the grease for a healthier and cleaner option. Love this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I use this all the time. I use parchment paper to line baking sheets. I cook the whole pound then freeze any strips that I don't use in a resealable bag. Then I can have bacon ready with a quick zap. I also bake at 400 degree F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

How to Cook Bacon

See three easy ways to sizzle your bacon: stovetop, oven, and microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States