Bacon-Flavored Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Easy enough to make, but yes, I tasted them, and they were very bland. My dogs are eating them, but they aren't doing any dances for them. lol I think next time I make them I will use honey & peanut butter instead of bacon grease and taste the dough before baking so I can tweak as needed. I ended up with about 70 biscuits that I cut out with a cookie cutter. Makes a nice amount & its fairly easy. Just needs to be a bit tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a57chevygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scully213
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Was a big hit here. I did substitute two cups of wheat flour for a cup of ground flax seed and and some wheat germ. Rolled them out and cut into bone size treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scully213

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've made these cookies several times now, as written and with several different variations. We're not bacon eaters, so I cooked up some turkey bacon, chopped up and added 1 c bacon bits, like you would chocolate chips. In the cases where I didn't use bacon grease (from local diner) I subbed 1/4 c vegetable oil. If I didn't use bacon, I have subbed 1c of cooked sweet potato(they LOVED it! who knew?) or 1c cheddar cheese (all but the pickiest liked this variation) 1c cooked leftover salmon. In all cases, I omitted the salt and added 1t baking powder. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made two different versions of this recipe. The first was bacon and cheddar. Followed the recipe except I didn't have enough bacon grease so made up the difference with coconut oil and added about 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese powder. My pups loved these. Second version was peanut butter and honey. Added 1 cup of peanut butter and 1/4 cup of honey. Baked first batch 29 minutes and second batch 25 minutes. Going to give these treats to all my favorite pups for Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These were easy to make and my dog LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My dogs loved these and they are very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
My dogs love these! I substituted Peanut butter for the bacon fat and left out about 2 cups of whole wheat flour since it was dry enough without it. My dogs go crazy now every time I go near the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Adopted a lovely dog who will not eat her treats. After trying a few store bought I tried these and she actually will eat them! Thanks! Definitely going to use this as a base and try peanut butter and chicken instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
The dogs luv these! I had only 5 Tb bacon grease so i substituted 5 Tb grapeseed oil for the rest. I also substituted yogurt for the milk and water. Next time, i might try what another reviewer suggested--eliminating the eggs and milk and using baking powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
i add ground cooked chicken and bacon with it, and leave the salt out and i haven't found a dog yet that doesn't love them and beg for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis1958

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States