Bacon-Flavored Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Basing this review of 5 stars on my dogs seemingly loving these cookies. Did not try myself. Kids loved to help make these. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
These treats are extremely high in calories, especially giving more than one in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My dog loves my bacon biscuits. I'm not sure how to rate this since I made more than a few changes: I crumbled & threw in the 16 oz bacon that rendered the fat. Other changes: used 3c ww flour + 1c quick cook oats + 1/2c flax seed + 1/2c wheat germ, used 3 eggs, used 1/2 c milk + 1 cup low sodium broth, eliminated salt. I found it less tedious to flatten out dough to 1/4" and use a shot glass to cut out the biscuits. Baked 20 min on 2 cookie sheets, rotated 180 degrees and switched top and bottom cookie sheets and baked 10 minutes more. I made original recipe once and my recipe 3x. My recipe: if they're in my pocket, my dog will nose in and try to steal some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My dogs absolutely LOVE these treats. I have made a variety of slight adjustments like using broth I had lying around instead of milk or adding some cornmeal or oats when my whole wheat flour ran short and they still go crazy for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I added shredded cheese to this recipe and my dogs loved it! Even my picky eater loves them. These are so much better than store bought where the ingredients can be questionable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My Dogs love this Biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Easy enough to make, but yes, I tasted them, and they were very bland. My dogs are eating them, but they aren't doing any dances for them. lol I think next time I make them I will use honey & peanut butter instead of bacon grease and taste the dough before baking so I can tweak as needed. I ended up with about 70 biscuits that I cut out with a cookie cutter. Makes a nice amount & its fairly easy. Just needs to be a bit tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a57chevygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scully213
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Was a big hit here. I did substitute two cups of wheat flour for a cup of ground flax seed and and some wheat germ. Rolled them out and cut into bone size treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scully213

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've made these cookies several times now, as written and with several different variations. We're not bacon eaters, so I cooked up some turkey bacon, chopped up and added 1 c bacon bits, like you would chocolate chips. In the cases where I didn't use bacon grease (from local diner) I subbed 1/4 c vegetable oil. If I didn't use bacon, I have subbed 1c of cooked sweet potato(they LOVED it! who knew?) or 1c cheddar cheese (all but the pickiest liked this variation) 1c cooked leftover salmon. In all cases, I omitted the salt and added 1t baking powder. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made two different versions of this recipe. The first was bacon and cheddar. Followed the recipe except I didn't have enough bacon grease so made up the difference with coconut oil and added about 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese powder. My pups loved these. Second version was peanut butter and honey. Added 1 cup of peanut butter and 1/4 cup of honey. Baked first batch 29 minutes and second batch 25 minutes. Going to give these treats to all my favorite pups for Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States