Bacon-Flavored Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I love making treats and birthday cakes for my dogs because I know exactly what goes into them. Bacon fat and other fats (chicken skin, etc.) are good to keep their coats moisturized. However, 10 tablespoons of bacon fat is too much for only 25 biscuits made. It can cause a lot of diseases which are fatal. I work in an Animal Shelter, so to keep the dogs safe I took it down to 5 tablespoons of bacon fat. Dogs loved it just the same and it's better for their health! Other than the excessive bacon fat, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
my dog loved these but after a few days would not touch them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Kar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
All I can say is that my dog is addicted to these treats!!! He literally drools for them!! While I was making these he parked himself on the kitchen floor and laid there (im)patiently waiting for these treats to be done! My bf and I were laughing because once he had a taste of one he wouldn't leave us alone! He was attached at our hips trying to get more! I added chicken broth instead of water and pieces of bacon because they had to get used, but other than that left the recipe the same. My dog is an American Bull Dog and about 85 pounds so he had no bathroom problems with these. I have a feeling that my dog won't finish the box of store bought biscuits we had bought for him after having one of these!! Guess I'll just have to keep making more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I read this recipe while baking a meatloaf. I thought I'd try the flavorful dripping of a meatloaf instead of bacon. I did not add water and used dry milk no salt. I used my small tsp scoop and baked for 20 min. Perfect and my dogs love them. Thanks for an easy healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
My veterinarian friend and my two vet-tech friends repeatedly tell me about dogs with terrible cases of pancreatitis in dogs who have been fed pork, including bacon/bacon fat. Apparently it's just too rich for them (hence the digestive issues experienced by dogs. Just a heads up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The people that are adding real bacon and steak or chicken fat are killing their dogs! They are not supposed to eat that stuff. Heck, why not add chocolate chips to it??? Then you will really kill your dog. And who can afford to put bacon in it anyway?! You can add vegetable trimmings to it, just not onions or garlic and no raisins or grapes. And if you feed TOO MUCH to the dogs.....yes, they will get the runs!!! Everything in moderation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williams, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
My golden loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My dogs just love these treats! I'm not a cook but these are so easy to make and store. I added the bacon bits from the grease the second time I made them. They were a hit! Store them in a air tight container to keep them fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
WeHave 3 Small Dogs. A A French Bulldog, And A Shih Zhu. all 3 Loved The Cookies. granted The ShIh Zhu Thinks We Are Trying To Give Her A Pill With Every New Treat. Just The Same She Ate Her cookie. Easy To Make. Dogs Love Them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States