Bacon Feta Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Excellent recipe. I made this dish for Thanksgiving at my parents, so I cooked it right before I left and just reheated it a little once I was there. I would not change a thing to the ingredients, but had to make some slight adjustments to the cooking times. I needed to cook the beans much longer than 3 minutes to thaw them. Also, when I put the feta cheese and beans in at the same time, the cheese melted before the beans were hot enough. This resulted in the cheese turning in to a big glob that I had to cool and tear apart. I think next time I would cook the beans with the onion powder and pepper and then add the cheese when the beans are hot enough. It was delicious though. Everyone who tried it loved it and I gave the recipe out to several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I scaled this for 12 on Easter, and it was a huge hit. I had tested it out the night before on a couple girlfriends and made a couple changes that I believe really helped the dish. 1) Increased the garlic (doubled it) 2) Chopped a medium onion up and threw it in the pan just as the bacon was finishing cooking. Then when I threw the bacon in with the beans the onions went in too. Combined with the garlic it gave it just the flavors it needed. It was such a hit everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Who wouldn't be intrigued with the idea of feta cheese on green beans? I just had to try it. Hubs would have no part of it, but part of the beauty of this recipe was that it was easy enough to accomodate both of us. I used fresh green beans rather than the frozen, not that I wouldn't have used the frozen if fresh weren't available. I threw some finely chopped onion in with the bacon and garlic and so omitted the onion powder. To finish, I didn't mix the feta cheese into the beans because, simply put, I didn't like that idea. I just sprinkled some of the feta over the top upon serving. Unusual and delicious with quite a nice presentation, particularly for just...green beans. Great recipe, and certainly best if not cooked beyond crisp-tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Good, but not great. This needs slight modifications...I have a new microwave and my beans did not cook in 3 minutes. Wish I would have tasted one before adding to the pan. This needs more garlic and onion. Next time I try this I will steam fresh beans and use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Green beans, feta and bacon-- all my favorite things! Made this for Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a real hit. I used fresh green beans and steamed them for 10 mins before adding to frypan. Be sure to soak your frypan right away so the cheese residue doesn't stick; this makes for an easier clean-up. We really enjoyed this and I'm definitely going to add it to my holiday repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Made these for our family Thanksgiving potluck. Wanted a new twist on green beans and thought these sounded good, but they were only so-so. (Also made the Syrian Green Beans which were awesome!) I think the flavors worked well together, just too overwhelming for the beans. I will perhaps make them again, but cut down on both the feta and bacon. Used fresh green beans -- about 1 lb, partially cooked for about 5 mins in microwave, drained, then proceeded w/recipe. Just seemed too heavy, though I love both feta and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, while I loved the bacon and the feta I did not like the beans. Maybe it was because these were frozen beans I'm not sure. I plan on trying this recipe with fresh beans and see if that makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a great side dish to bring to a BBQ or summer party. I use the Green Giant Full Length Green Beans Steamable Bags and add crumbled bacon, feta & seasonings as soon as I take it out of bag. So fast and tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Very good. I put the green beans mix and feta cheese in the oven so the feta could melt more prior to serving. You must like feta to enjoy this. But if you are a fan of feta cheese, this recipe is a sure fire winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Really good! I used bacon bits- using a little olive oil to saute' with. I had to cook the green beans 5 minutes in the microwave to thaw. Cooking it this way takes about 15 minutes total. A delicious, easy, low carb side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States