Bacon Feta Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Made these for our family Thanksgiving potluck. Wanted a new twist on green beans and thought these sounded good, but they were only so-so. (Also made the Syrian Green Beans which were awesome!) I think the flavors worked well together, just too overwhelming for the beans. I will perhaps make them again, but cut down on both the feta and bacon. Used fresh green beans -- about 1 lb, partially cooked for about 5 mins in microwave, drained, then proceeded w/recipe. Just seemed too heavy, though I love both feta and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
We loved this dish. What a nice change of pace from the standard green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I might try it with turkey bacon next to cut some of the fat and sodium out. It also freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I've hated green beans ever since I was a little girl...These flavors introduced me to them again. And they were quite delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
It's very tart for my taste. I had to add sugar. It didn't have enough flavor for me. I added a little salt, thyme, basil in addition to the onion powder, garlic and pepper. Next time I'm going to try it with another type of cheese. I want something that isn't "cheesy", but is sweeter than feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Loved this! We love green beans, feta and bacon. We will be making this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
We love this recipe! Sometimes we vary the amount of bacon or green beans. So, very tasty! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Excellent. Real easy. Real quick. Real good. My family likes feta cheese, so I used the full amount. Got rave reviews. Heats well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLLYROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy! This was awesome. I didn't use a full 4 ounces of the feta (almost though). This is a very rich dish. Very filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
The feta flavor is very strong; you may wish to decrease the amount of feta somewhat. Hubby said it was interesting but not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States