Bacon Feta Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I scaled this for 12 on Easter, and it was a huge hit. I had tested it out the night before on a couple girlfriends and made a couple changes that I believe really helped the dish. 1) Increased the garlic (doubled it) 2) Chopped a medium onion up and threw it in the pan just as the bacon was finishing cooking. Then when I threw the bacon in with the beans the onions went in too. Combined with the garlic it gave it just the flavors it needed. It was such a hit everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was great! I used turkey bacon and did not put onion powder in because I did not have any. I will make sure I have it next time as I think it would only make it better. I also put a bit more minced garlic in because my fiance and I love garlic. Real bacon would make it better but we're watching our weight and that's all we had. To keep it warm while I made other things, I put it in an aluminum pan and put it in the oven on 250F for 10 min. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this for Valentines Day & it turned out great. It was quick & easy. I ended up getting the cut green beans that self steam in the bag in the microwave. I think they were by Jolly Green Giant. The shortest cooking time was 6 min. so I put it in for 5 1/2 min then added it to the bacon & garlic & added the cheese. And cooked it about 1 1/2min so the cheese didn't clump. I plan on making it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annastasiav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was an awesome recipe. The only thing I'd change would be to use canned green beans, frozen were just too crunchy. That's more a personal preference, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Very good. I put the green beans mix and feta cheese in the oven so the feta could melt more prior to serving. You must like feta to enjoy this. But if you are a fan of feta cheese, this recipe is a sure fire winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Unbelievably good! I make this whenever possible. I used frozen green beans (they ones in the microwavable bag) and also used turkey bacon instead. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These beans were tasty! I brought them to Thanksgiving at my sister's house and everyone loved them. I used uncured/nitrate-free bacon to offset the saltiness of the imported feta. The dish was definitely the best when they were freshly made, but leftovers were passable, too. The problem with the leftovers is that the feta kind of disappeared - maybe I crumbled it too small or something initially. Anyway, I won't hesitate to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahartfie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving last year and didn't make enough! I'll be making it again this year and quadrupling the recipe - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Didn't work at all. The feta and bacon clung together and not to the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Sooooo good! Any strong, salty cheese seems to work. I used extra sharp English cheddar since that's what I had on hand. I might try turkey bacon next time to cut out some of the fat. I will definitely be making this again (maybe tomorrow!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States