Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe with the exception of adding more bacon. It was tasty, but too dry -- I will use less bread next time, and will also try using milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 to save a few calories. I'll also try other ingredients such as ham instead of the bacon, and maybe some diced green chiles. It's good enough to try again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Great base recipe for a breakfast bake. I used whole milk instead (what I had on hand). Added some salt, pepper, and dried parsley to the egg mix. Also used whole pound cooked and crumbled bacon, left out mushrooms, and added sautéed onions and bell peppers. I will definitely be using this base in the future. Will try sausage, ham, and other veggie combinations. I will be using 1lb of whatever meat I use though (1/4 cup is definitely not enough!). Easy to tailor to your own taste. Guests loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I use the following: regular sandwich bread, 2% milk instead of the half-and-half, and depending what mood I'm in, I'll add chopped green peppers and onions that had been sautéed in the residue of whatever breakfast meat I decided to use. This recipe is great with crumbled sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was dry and not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann P
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was yummy! I used 12 slices of bacon, no mustard nor mushrooms. I let it cook about 75 mins until the center looked as fluffy as the edges, and then let it rest about 10-15 mins. It was crispy on the edges yet fluffy and perfect on the inside. Very good start to our Christmas morning! I'll use this again with different flavor ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The main reason this dish is bland is the missing spices. You need to add salt and pepper at a minimum. Def needs extra cheese and bacon. I always add garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, pinch of cayenne, etc. As for extras, I like jalapenos, onions, bell peppers, broccoli, sausage- well I could add just about anything. This is really just a base to make into your masterpiece. I really like the idea of using stuffing or hash browns in lieu of bread. Be creative! Use what your family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Very easy and good recipe. I made it for some ovo-lacto vegetarian guests. I omitted the bacon and substituted a handful of chopped fresh basil. This kicked up the taste a notch, and met my vegetarian requirements. Would also like to try with chopped fresh spinach or cooked chopped broccoli as vegetarian options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas breakfast and it was a hit! Very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Too much bread/wheat. Most health-conscious people did not want to eat it. To heavy for a breakfast meal with all that bread. Might try it w/o the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
trying this now using LO Thanksgiving stuffing--Italian recipe--from the freezer, shorted the liquid by 1/2c...an now the waiting, wish I'd made it last night for the lazy Sunday breakfast routine around here! OK! Gimme somemore of that! Next time I would add LO turkey also, about 1c. and maybe some craisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Wiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States