Bacon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
my husband is in the Navy and has been gone for 5 months. I asked him if he wanted me to send some of his favorite cookies to eat and share with the guys. He of course said yes. I asked if he wanted anything else and he had the strange request of something with bacon. Jokingly, I said how about bacon cookies. Well, he loved them (so did all of the other sailors). Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I read the comments about this being bland and when I tasted the dough, I agreed I needed a little help. I went a different direction with these.. they are a cookie so they needed sweetness. I added a tablespoon of real maple syrup to the dough, and then after baking, topped with a glaze of powdered sugar, maple syrup and a little water. YUM!! Maple bacon cookies.. delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
These were ok. Lacking a little flavor. I tried using the bacon grease with the butter to give it a little more oomph. Didn't change the taste of the cookie part much. I'll be toying around with this recipe this fall though - trying to figure out if some good sharp cheddar cheese can be baked in with these. Thanks for this unusual recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
i made this last saturday for an oktoberfest themed party. they were okay and people said they liked them, but to me they had very little flavor. the only good parts were the pieces of bacon. anyway, they weren't bad, just not as good as i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
When I made these, the prep time wasn't QUITE that long. Also, I added roughly a cup of cheddar cheese which made for some much better cookies than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We read the reviews and accepted the challenge to add some kick to this recipe. This became quite nice as an added savory cookie to our Holiday treat tray. We added 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream, and utilized an 1/8 cup of fresh grated parmesan/ romano cheese to the dough and added 1/8 tsp additional salt, rolled the log in pepper and parmesan - when baked with egg wash we added a sprinkling of grated asiago - wow the basic recipe a sturdy base became a luscious zesty crunchy tasty " cookie" brought favored remarks from family and friends. yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
should be called bacon biscuits. would be good with gravy. certainly not a typical cookies, but no sugar in the recipe should be a clue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Not really a fan. Made the recipe as written. "Cookies" came out dry and bland...more like crackers with a shortbread textures. There certainly wasn't enough bacon flavor. I think cheese could have helped a bit, but not too much. These might be okay served with tomato soup or some other kind of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I am a huge fan of bacon and love it, but this recipe ruins it. The cookies where dry and didn't have much favor. I would suggest making something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States