Bacon-Colby Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I used low-sodium bacon and added 2 tablespoons of wheat germ to the sauce for a heart healthy version. I did not substitute the cheese for low-fat though, which was a good choice. Regular colby-jack was perfect. Cooking uncovered for 10 minutes was a good idea because it browned the cheese just a touch. I was a little nervous using a whole onion, but when I added the sauce it made sense. The amount of sauce is perfect for people that don't like too much sauce. This dish cooked well in a glass pan. The recipe can easily be cut in half and will make great leftovers for the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a wonderful recipe. I did follow some previous review and added one can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce, i also added a little garlic to the meat when browning it. Gave it just a kick, this one will be on my list to use again. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! My husband is not a lasagna fan and he loves it! Both kids thoroughly enjoy this also. It's always a hit in our house and one of the few dishes with leftovers that get eaten! The colby cheese has a great taste with the tomato sauce and the bacon adds a distinctly different flavor. Excellent recipe and one of our family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Made this on a whim one night for the bf and I. Halved the recipe (as it says it's for 24 people) and only used one pan. The real work in this recipe is the prep! Once that's done, it's all downhill! Usually, my bf hates lasagna (the Ricotta cheese) so this was a fun, easy, and delicious alternative! Even our roommate (who hates tomatoes and onions) LOVED this recipe! And, because it makes a whole pan- we have lots of leftovers! yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
made this for a party and everyone raved, said it tasted like a bacon cheese burger, can't go wrong with that thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was extremely cheesy and had a different taste. It was probably good for Bacon/Cheese Lovers as the title proclaims but it wasn't outstanding to me. It was just okay. I also used Maple flavored bacon....maybe that was a mistake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My husband LOVED this! He even ate the leftovers for lunches the next few days. He says it's one of the best lasagnas he's ever had. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwhdmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was okay. I really missed the ricotta cheese. If I make this again I will add it into the layers. My sause also turned out really thick...the kids ate it up~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
GREAT. My family loved it. I did add an extra small can of tomato sauce to thin out the sauce a bit (otherwise it was more like thick chili without beans). I will make again and use the no boil noodles. Took a while to make, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I think this is the best lasagna ever. I didn't change the recipe one bit and it turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States