Bacon Clapshot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These were good mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I use rutabagas instead of turnips and add some garlic cloves while they are cooking. Substitute sour cream for the butter and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
i didn't add any milk because the veggies were moist enough without it. My kids loved it, 2 of them even wanted the leftovers for breakfast the next day. i would recommend eating any leftovers within a day or two, though because the turnip seems to get stronger as it sits. I mixed some grated cheese in with the bacon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I had never thought of combining potatos and turnips as I really like turnips by themself. My finicky wife liked this dish even though she will not eat turnips. I did put some minced onion flakes out of habit. We will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was soo good! I've never cooked with turnip before and we couldn't even taste it in this dish! Excellent recipe that I look forward to making again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this today for lunch, using equal amounts of potato and turnip and adding carrots. It was wonderful, even on a 100-degree day. We ate it warm instead of hot off the stove. Next time I will add more nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We really enjoyed these. The turnips are not really discernable as turnips, but add a dimension of sorts. Altogether with the bacon and nutmeg, the dish was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used organic red potatoes, lowfat buttermilk, instead of plain milk, turkey bacon and instead of nutmeg, I added a teaspoon or so of chopped chives and a little garlic powder. We all liked this a great deal. NOTE: For those of you who cook with turnips, be aware that they cook faster than potatoes. So, when you cut up your turnips, make them larger than your potatoes so they cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Whoa, these are some darned good "mashed potatoes!" First, a mention of an unintended substitution - I sent Hubs to the store for turnips and he came home with rutabagas. *Sigh* Thank goodness they're pretty much interchangeable! I added a little chopped green onion and some softened cream cheese and in so doing found I didn't need to add any milk at all. I don’t know what it is about the simple and humble additions of nutmeg, rutabagas, er, turnips and bacon to the potatoes but there WAS something special and different about them, albeit quietly understated. It really dressed up basic mashed potatoes. I reserved some of the bacon and green onion to garnish the top which really prettied them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I served this at Christmas this past year. What a wonderful treat! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States