Bacon Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
5 stars for tasting GREAT without alot of ingredients!!!!! I followed the recipe as is. I did turn the broiler on for an extra few minutes to crisp the bacon to our preferences.... Thank you 07/10/05 Review 2 - Stil 5 Stars! I have made this so many times and have found the best way to make this by following the recipe exactly as is. Too much flavor is lost if you cook the bacon beforehand. I always turn on the broiler to brown the bacon during the last few minutes and turn it over to brown the other side, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I precook my bacon so it is crispy and just top chicken with it, pour soup over, then milk and bake. So easy and can make with different soups for totally different flavors. So far I have used celery soup, mushroom, potato, and nacho cheese. Didn't care for it with the nacho cheese soup though. Season chicken first with pepper, garlic, poultry seasoning, whatever you like. I'd check the soup first to see if it's salty before adding any salt! Don't forget the bacon is pretty salty too. This is the first recipe I ever made from this site back in June, 2005 and my husband LOVES it, second to Burrito Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
When I asked my husband if I should make this one again, he gave me a look like he thought I was crazy and then emphatically said yes... for sure. This was easy easy to make. I used Turkey bacon instead of pork, and went with a cream of broccoli soup. I actually put 2 bacon strips around each piece of chicken, and pounded the chicken flat first. Beating up a piece of poultry is a great way to get some of my workday stress out. I will definately make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
This dish was average. It was certainly easy to prepare. I used low fat; low sodium soup and didn't bother with leaving the bacon on to brown. There are better dishes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This recipe was fantastic. My husband and kids went on and on about how good it was. I followed others suggestions about cooking the bacon first. I cooked it until it just started to get crisp. I removed the bacon and sauted some chopped onions in the bacon fat. I layed some larger pieces of bacon across the chicken and mixed smaller pieces and the onion in with the soup mixture. I also used more milk than what the recipe called for, but its really a matter of preference on how thick you want your gravy. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I pre cooked the bacon and I used cream of chicken with herbs canned soup instead of celery (had it on hand already). It turned out very well. You do have to season the meat otherwise it is very bland (per the advice of another reviewer). Thanks will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Never thought I would give a "canned soup" recipe a five-star rating but this was deserving of it. We loved this. I pounded the chicken breasts and seasoned them with black pepper, garlic powder and rotisserie chicken seasoning. Only used two chicken breasts but kept the other amounts the same except I used two slices of bacon per breast (maple flavored). Served over white rice. I think using other seasonings is something that you have to do because it would be dull otherwise. Very simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
We LOVED this! I couldn't believe the regular taste of celery soup was changed so much by the flavour of the bacon! Excellent recipe. The only thing I would do differently is cut the chicken breasts in half (lengthwise) next time, as mine were quite thick and would have taken on more of the flavour of the sauce if thinner. My boyfriend also requested more bacon, so I may wrap each chicken 'half' in bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Simple ingredients. Fabulous taste! I cut 2 chicken cutlets into strips, sprinkled them with pepper and garlic powder, poured the sauce as given in the recipe over all, then laid the bacon strips on top. After 30 minutes, I uncovered the dish and turned the heat up to 400. Served it over angel hair pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
This is one of the best chicken recipies I have ever made. The first time I made it, I didn't make enough!! My husband wanted seconds! The second time I made it, I add something. After the chicken had finished baking, I put a thin slice of cream cheese on top of each piece of chicken and stuck it under the broiler until brown and bubbley...even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States