Bacon Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Did I follow the same recipe as everyone else? People are raving about this dish and I thought it was "okay" at absolute best. I browned the bacon a little like everyone recommended. If you do this, render as much fat as you can because the way you put it in the oven is the way it will come out. I used frozen veggies with it like another user, which I do NOT recommend unless you LOVE canned veggies because that's what they come out like: overcooked, mushy, and tasteless. Now, the recipe itself sounded good and simple. I just was not impressed at all, and I don't think I'm picky. It didn't have much flavor, even with a very flavorful bacon that I love. And adding only 1/4c. milk to the condensed milk led to a very thick, heavy sauce that I did not find pleasing at all. Sorry, I would not make this again at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I precook my bacon so it is crispy and just top chicken with it, pour soup over, then milk and bake. So easy and can make with different soups for totally different flavors. So far I have used celery soup, mushroom, potato, and nacho cheese. Didn't care for it with the nacho cheese soup though. Season chicken first with pepper, garlic, poultry seasoning, whatever you like. I'd check the soup first to see if it's salty before adding any salt! Don't forget the bacon is pretty salty too. This is the first recipe I ever made from this site back in June, 2005 and my husband LOVES it, second to Burrito Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I was a little worried about trying this meal, as my husband is very fussy...He LOVED it!! I read the reviews first, and decided to season the chicken and brown the bacon first. I used a Thai Herb mix, some garlic and cracked black pepper, I also pounded the meat. I didn't 'cook' the bacon first, just heated it in the frypan really. I added corn and celery before putting the Cream of Celery soup mix on top, and I left it in the oven for an extra 15 mins on top of the 50 (35mins covered, 30 mins uncovered all up). I served this on a bed of mashed potato with green beans on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Very good and easy to make. I enjoyed it and is great for my low carb lifestyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I pre cooked the bacon and I used cream of chicken with herbs canned soup instead of celery (had it on hand already). It turned out very well. You do have to season the meat otherwise it is very bland (per the advice of another reviewer). Thanks will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Never thought I would give a "canned soup" recipe a five-star rating but this was deserving of it. We loved this. I pounded the chicken breasts and seasoned them with black pepper, garlic powder and rotisserie chicken seasoning. Only used two chicken breasts but kept the other amounts the same except I used two slices of bacon per breast (maple flavored). Served over white rice. I think using other seasonings is something that you have to do because it would be dull otherwise. Very simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
We loved this easy chicken dish! My sister couldn't believe how great this little recipe was. I doubled this recipe, added an onion, precooked my bacon a wee bit, and seasoned my chicken with a little garlic salt and pepper. The chicken was so moist! Yummy! Yummy! Will make it again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTOMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This is a hard one to rate for me. We all liked it but it wasn't wonderful. I gave it 4 stars because it's really easy and the chicken is really tender. The flavor is good as well but it just seems like there is something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I pre-cooked the bacon half way but after 45 minutes in the oven it was still chewy. I'd highly recommend cooking the bacon all the way. Chicken did stay moist. Not enough sauce to put on our rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This was a very tasty dish. I did pre-cook my bacon, but apparently not enough as it was still pretty chewy. Next time, I think I will completely cook the bacon and put it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSENCE009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States