Bacon Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I made this in the crockpot when I forgot to take something out of the freezer and had no clue what to make. Threw the frozen chicken breasts in and poured the soup over it. I don't like using milk in the crockpot except for at the end and I just left it out. I used bacon crumbles instead and threw those in there with a can of water and 2 chicken bouillon cubes. I didn't eat it immediately and took mine to work for later...it smelled awful but the chicken was incredibly tender and it was actually very good. Will make this again every once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This is a great recipe! Kris, you're a genius! I've made it twice, the first time I didn't grill the bacon, and the second time I did. It was good both times but better the second time when I grilled the bacon first. As well as making it nice and crispy, it seems to release more of the lovely bacon flavour into the gravy. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Definitely cook the bacon a bit beforehand, but be sure not to overcook because it needs to be soft for wrapping the chicken. Easy recipe, good taste. Thanks, Kris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This recipe was fantastic. My husband and kids went on and on about how good it was. I followed others suggestions about cooking the bacon first. I cooked it until it just started to get crisp. I removed the bacon and sauted some chopped onions in the bacon fat. I layed some larger pieces of bacon across the chicken and mixed smaller pieces and the onion in with the soup mixture. I also used more milk than what the recipe called for, but its really a matter of preference on how thick you want your gravy. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Excellent. It's what I'm always looking for. Different flavor, quick and easy. Be SURE to cook the bacon almost all the way done BEFORE you put it on the chicken unless you like it soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
I did not enjoy this recipe very much. The soup did manage to keep the chicken very moist, but the flavor of the chicken was very bland. I would definitely recommend browning the bacon beforehand, as mine turned out limp and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This was pretty good -- esp for how easy it was! I took some of the other reviewer's suggestions and lightly cooked the bacon first. My dish didn't turn out greasy at all, and the bacon was nice and crisp at the end! I don't know if I will use the cream of celery soup again. I think the taste would go better with cream of mushroom or cream of chicken, but it was still very good. I will definitely make this again -- especially on nights when time is tight! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
My husband and I loved this receipe. One suggestion: cook the bacon some before you wrap it around the chicken. I wanted to eat the bacon with the chicken, but it did not quite cook all the way. The chicken sure was tender and had an excellent taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was great! A little greasy, but wonderful served over rice. Easy and quick, and great for a midweek meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This is a easy recipe. I chopped and fried bacon removed most of the drippings, then stirred in soup(cream of chicken) and milk plus some herbs. Poured over chicken and baked 30-40 minutes. It is thick you might want to add a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States