Bacon Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this exactly as written except w gluten free biscuits so I'm sure it would have been even more tasty had it been regular , but my gluten free version got a good review from my husband and my one year old ate his all gone so I'm giving this five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is the bomb....cooked it for my friends and they loved it too. I made my dumplings from scratch since I did not have any milk..just an easy recipe with flour, baking powder, salt, cooking oil and I used chicken stock instead of water. Definitely a keeper in my recipe book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this was! Was leary about how the chicken would be but it had a good taste to it! Did not change a thing on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
OK...I have 3 fussy eaters in my house and it was probably the quietest dinner we've had in years! They all went back for seconds and the fussiest went back for a third! Easy meal to prepare and VERY delicious. I will make this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe is a good starting point with nice flavor, but after following the recipe exactly, I would make adjustments. For starters, probably double the bacon. The liquid is too much and ends up on the runny side. I think you could safely reduce the liquid by at least one cup, and possibly add a little flour to thicken the liquid before adding the dumplings. It could use some extra poultry seasoning, and the dumplings will be runny if you follow the directions, add at least a couple of tablesoppoons of baking mix to get the dough thick enough to make good dumplings. With a few alterations, I think this recipe will be a keeper. My family enjoyed it as is, and will like it even better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I couldn't imagine a better stew! I did not use the dumpling part of the recipe, instead I made Chef John's dumplings from this site. I added a clove or two of garlic, and some celery (added with the onions) and carrots. I also thickened it with some cornstarch / milk mixture, and in fact used mostly 1% milk not cream. I like more of a stew than a soup texture. One tip, my stew filled the pot and I think the dumplings would have been fluffier if there was more room for them to expand. So make sure to have lots of room in your pot! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Huge family hit. Everybody came back for seconds. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
First time ever making "chicken and dumplings." I used everything recipe called for except for dumplings. Used can biscuits instead. My husband loved it and I did too. Thank you for a great keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
The cook time estimation is way off, but other than that, it was delicious... we'll be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I did try this recipe, and it was great, right up to the point where it said 1 cup of milk for 1 1/2 biscuit mix. To make dumplings it should be 2 1/4 cups to 2/3 cups milk. I had already poured the milk in the biscuit mix and had to keep adding more till I got the right consistency. Other than this the flavor was great!, Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiChelle Jaggard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States