Bacon Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My mother has made these for years, and now I am making them, and even my picky kids like them. I use a mixture of soy sauce and brown sugar poured over them, it makes a nice carmalized effect on them. I have "over cooked" them by mistake before, and they still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
We've made these for years. Try the microwavable ready-to-serve bacon (it doesn't get as crumbly and wraps easily). For a sauce we use brown sugar, mayo and chili sauce. These fly off the plate at all functions I've served them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Mmmm, Bacon Waterchestnuts are delicious! Every year for as long as I can remember we've had these as appetizers for the holidays. Our family gobbles them up so fast! We've switched to using turkey bacon these days and they're even tastier! Very highly recommended (and they do not need any dipping sauce - they are perfect just the way they are!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
My mom made these for my sister and I when we were kids. Helpful hint: you CAN heat them in the microwave if you don't have a toaster oven, but the toaster oven is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is much better with the sauce - its called Rumaki. You take 1/4 c soy sauce, 2 tbsp packed brown sugar, 1/8 tsp ground ginger and 1 clove crushed garlic - mix it all together and marinate the water chestnuts (we also use chicken livers)covered, in the refridgerator for 2 hours. Then drain the marinade and wrap the bacon around the water chestnut and chicken liver - secure with toothpick, and bake 25-30 minutes, until the bacon is crisp. My mom used to make it all the time - they are great! I have also had it with the "BBQ" sauce of ketchup and brown sugar - its good as well, but you really have to start out with this base marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
These are very good, especially when you use the whole water chestnuts. They don't last long on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I love making these for Christmas brunch! But one change , and its wonderful this way....Buy the huge or largest dates that you can buy. Fill each pitted date with a water chestnut and then wrap them with a strip of bacon and broil til just cooked ! They are GREAT! They are gone before any thing else so make lots !! Be sure you use LARGE Dates! Enjoy ! God bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I love this recipe and it is always a big hit but what I usually do is after I drain the water chestnuts I add enough soy sauce to the can to coat the water chestnuts. We also like these with a hot flavor, so we layer a slice of jalopeno that comes in a jar and then wrap with the bacon. Addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was a very easy and delicious recipe. The texture was very crunchy, and was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
My mom use to make these all the time when I was a kid. They are so good and I dont really like bacon too much! Try them- you'll like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States