Bacon Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This recipe is very simple to make and REALLY makes a great appetizer! I am on Weight Watchers so you can lower "Points" by using 2% cheddar, lower fat bacon and mayo with the same results! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Made this for a holiday party and everyone wanted the recipe.Very easy to put today you can make this the day before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Found the recipe last minute, made it and WOW, they all loved it! Even my finicky friends. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTY1103
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Delicious and hearty snack! This recipes is very flexible and easy to change with a bit of grated onion, or a 1/2t. of horseradish. Cheeses can be substituted as well. It's great with Swiss cheese in place of Cheddar. They freeze well too. After cheese mixture is spread on the bread, I freeze them on a cookie sheet and when frozen, transfer them to a plastic container or bag. To bake- just place on sheet and pop into the oven. (only takes a minute or two longer than fresh.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
Yes this is the best all-time hors d'oeuvre ever. Add some horseradish instead of the mustard and a dash of sherry, and you will pump up those delicious flavors even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This is a great recipe for an easy appetizer! However, it is a bit salty. Next time I will try using the low sodium bacon instead. I also improvised with half of the appetizers by adding one slice of a grape tomato (like a tiny plum tomato) to the top of the bread before adding the mixture. It turned out very tasty, as the tomato stayed firm under the filling. I'm also going to try using this as a filling for my homemade dough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These were simple and fast to make. Acutally made the "cheese and bacon mix" ahead of time which made it even easier day of .... They tasted fine, am thinking the pumpernickle bread is a little too strong for mildness of cheese mix. Next time may try plain crostini or even warm cheese mix in crock pot and use as a dip versus topping. Will make again but will make changes beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I have just made my third batch of these for the Holidays and about to make one more for New Year's Eve! Fantastic reviews from my guests. I did, however, make it easy on myself and used Oscar Meyer bacon bits instead of cooking all that bacon....same flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAILSEY1
Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Very good, they went over well at a cocktail party. They did not puff up though. I will make these again, very easy and pretty on the plate. Thanks for the great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This are so quick, easy, & delicious for a party! I have already made them several times! I highly recommend trying these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States