Bacon Cheddar Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Easy appetizer and very delicious. Once my guests actually tried it (because it doesn't look like anything special) they all devoured it. It was gone within a few minutes. I made a few small changes to this: 1) half a cup of light ranch dressing and half a cup of non-fat sour cream; 2) added diced onions instead of grated (which gave it a better, texture); 3) threw in garlic & onion powder, pepper, and sea salt; & 4) used 2-3 extra slices of bacon. I chilled this overnight and served the next evening w/ celery & cucumber slices. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was great! I swore as I read reviews I wouldn't be one of those folks who loved a recipe then made a change but I did.. well just one... I split the 1 cup of creamy dressing into 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was very good. I used one cup of mayonaise instead of the creamy dressing. I also added more onion, garlic powder, black pepper, and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this for my son's birthday party, I was pretty hesitant, but it came out GREAT! There was none left. I crushed crackers over the top, melted a couple tablespoons of butter and poured that over the crushed crackers, and baked at 350 for about 15-20 minutes. Will definately be making again! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This came out pretty good after a little additions. First, after reading the reviews, I went with Honey Dijon dressing (my husband doesn't like ranch). I used 5-6 Tablespoons. Making it sweeter, I added a few drops of Tabasco and , about, 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I made it two days in advance and the flavors blended to make it more sweet and spicy. I will make this again...my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This recipe is unclear as to what "creamy salad dressing" means. My guess would be that it means Miracle Whip, not the kind of dressing you put on salad! I didn't care for this much though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I MADE THIS FOR A PARTY AND TOOK ONE TASTE OF IT AND THREW IT OUT. I HAD TO RUN TO THE STORE TO GET SOMETHING TO TAKE TO THE PARTY. I ENDED UP MAKING MEXICAN STYLE DIP ON THIS WEBSITE WHICH WAS GOOD. I'M NOT SURE WHAT WENT WRONG WITH THE BACON CHEDDAR SPREAD. MAYBE IT WAS THE RANCH DRESSING I USED. I WILL NOT ATTEMPT TO MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Visually unappealing. Flavor okay. When I made this (along with another dip) for a gathering, this was barely touched while the other dip disappeared. No one requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Everyone loved this spread, served with Ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Tasty! The creamy salad dressing I used was Ken's Light Creamy Parmesan. The only modification I made to this recipe was to give all the ingredients a good spin in the food processor before chilling. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States