Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
These were a huge hit at our house. To lower the fat content I used Cabot 50% lower fat cheddar, egg beaters, skim milk and 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup. To increase the flavor I used 1/4 cup of snipped fresh chives. I think the fresh chives really made this dish and if you have them available I would strongly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zuzana
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Everybody in my family loves these muffins, especially as a side to scrumbled eggs. I add just a little more milk than the recipe asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Really good. I made a bunch of changes because I was trying to work with what I had and cater a bit to my husband who's extremely picky. I didn't use any meat or chives, cut out the salt entirely, and used half again the cheeses. I added a few chopped mushrooms and a diced jalapeno for a little kick. They turned out quite moist, but very tasty, and the picky eater loves them. Also, paper liners are necessary with this, especially if you increase the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I thought theese were gross. My husband said he liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAMRF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I wanted to make bread with the bacon and cheese, so I made a few alterations. Instead of oil, I used 1/4 cup butter and crumbled it into the flour before adding the other ingredients, used 2/3 cups milk, omitted the mushroom soup and used 2 eggs. Baked it 50 minutes in a 180 C oven. It turned out great!! (look at picture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Simple recipe. The 1/2 cup of oil is quite a lot of oil though. Going to try to reduce to 1/2 cup next time. We used 2tsp fresh scallions instead of the chives. That seemed to work fine. I agree with previous reviewers and would reduce the garlic powder too. Fill the cups full because these don't rise too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I made several significant changes to this recipe for various reasons and it turned out great! Here's what I did: -substituted cooked and crumbled Morningstar Farms breakfast links and mock-sausage patties for the bacon (I'm vegetarian) -used some fresh sliced mushrooms and sour cream instead of cream of mushroom soup (my hubby is allergic to the MSG in the soup) -I didn't have any chives, so I left those out Next time, I'll add chives, and perhaps some olives. I might cut back on the cheddar to reduce the fat, but I'll have to figure out how to compensate for the reduction first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
WOW, these were YUMMY! Took some time, but well wroth it. Thank you Shelley :^).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I loved these muffins! The kids thought they were okay and the husband said if it had a little less garlic flavor he thought he might enjoy them more. The texture was good and the moistness was there. They reheat great. I think next time I will lighten up on the garlic and use a less fine cheddar cheese. We ate them for breakfast but I can see them served with creamy potato soup and side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I brought these muffins to church on a weekday morning. The people who fellowship in the morning, loved it. I had to make copies of the recipe for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States