Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Zuzana
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Everybody in my family loves these muffins, especially as a side to scrumbled eggs. I add just a little more milk than the recipe asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Really good. I made a bunch of changes because I was trying to work with what I had and cater a bit to my husband who's extremely picky. I didn't use any meat or chives, cut out the salt entirely, and used half again the cheeses. I added a few chopped mushrooms and a diced jalapeno for a little kick. They turned out quite moist, but very tasty, and the picky eater loves them. Also, paper liners are necessary with this, especially if you increase the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I thought theese were gross. My husband said he liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAMRF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I wanted to make bread with the bacon and cheese, so I made a few alterations. Instead of oil, I used 1/4 cup butter and crumbled it into the flour before adding the other ingredients, used 2/3 cups milk, omitted the mushroom soup and used 2 eggs. Baked it 50 minutes in a 180 C oven. It turned out great!! (look at picture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Simple recipe. The 1/2 cup of oil is quite a lot of oil though. Going to try to reduce to 1/2 cup next time. We used 2tsp fresh scallions instead of the chives. That seemed to work fine. I agree with previous reviewers and would reduce the garlic powder too. Fill the cups full because these don't rise too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I made several significant changes to this recipe for various reasons and it turned out great! Here's what I did: -substituted cooked and crumbled Morningstar Farms breakfast links and mock-sausage patties for the bacon (I'm vegetarian) -used some fresh sliced mushrooms and sour cream instead of cream of mushroom soup (my hubby is allergic to the MSG in the soup) -I didn't have any chives, so I left those out Next time, I'll add chives, and perhaps some olives. I might cut back on the cheddar to reduce the fat, but I'll have to figure out how to compensate for the reduction first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
WOW, these were YUMMY! Took some time, but well wroth it. Thank you Shelley :^).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I loved these muffins! The kids thought they were okay and the husband said if it had a little less garlic flavor he thought he might enjoy them more. The texture was good and the moistness was there. They reheat great. I think next time I will lighten up on the garlic and use a less fine cheddar cheese. We ate them for breakfast but I can see them served with creamy potato soup and side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I brought these muffins to church on a weekday morning. The people who fellowship in the morning, loved it. I had to make copies of the recipe for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Wonderful flavor and great presentation! My family liked them but was unsure of the "strange" taste left in the mouth. I believe next time I will substitute sour cream for the crm of mushrm soup and green onions for the chives. Otherwise this recipe is delish! Thanks Shelley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States