Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
First, here are the changes I made following other reviewers advice. I used no oil. Instead I added 1/4 cup each of milk and sour cream. I also substituted sour cream for the mushroom soup, so instead of 1/2 cup each COM soup and milk, I added a total of 3/4 cup each sour cream and milk. I also cut the garlic powder to about 3/4 tsp. I love garlic, but if I'm having this for breakfast, I didn't want to be overwhelmed by it. Personally I liked these a lot. They reminded me a lot of the Cheddar Bay Biscuits you get at Red Lobster but with bacon. My Husband agrees. My kids however...not so much. For them I think it was more of a texture thing (the tops are a little crunchy from the baked cheese). My children are young, 5, 3, 2. Maybe older children would appreciate them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These muffins were pretty good. Maybe a little too garlicky, but overall, had good flavor. My husband really liked them so I know that he will look forward to eating them for a quick breakfast. The only thing I changed was that I used turkey bacon since that I all I ever buy anymore, so at least that made it a little healthier. I will probably make a bigger batch next time so that I can freeze them and we can use them for quick meals. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These are quite good. I replaced vegetable oil with butter and used cheese soup instead of mushroom. Also, I only baked for 16min as 20 seemed long. My husband ate 3 right out of the oven. They are almost as good as Red Lobster's. I won't make them every week but they are going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Dee-licious! Used sour cream i/o mushroom soup. Used turkey bacon. Only 1 tsp garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I found these a bit greasy, but the flavour was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Just ok. I won't make these again. They had a weird flavor to them that I did not prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Delicious. These will be great to make ahead and freeze throughout the school year. My modifications: I used 1C whole wheat and 1C white flour, 1 t. garlic powder, 1/4 C fresh chopped chives, 1.5C extra sharp cheddar, and 1/2C Greek yogurt (instead of mushroom soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
amazing muffins!! dear daughter made these both with and without chives... the chives truly add an important flavour. i'd say if you don't like chives/onions, maybe replace it with fresh dill? excellent recipe... a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
These are GREAT! Searching for recipes at midnight planning the menu for the week, I decided to make these (yes, at 1230 am) because my boyfriend loves bacon so much and we have a busy day tomorrow, no time to make an impressive breakfast. I dont have sugar on hand so scratched it all together. I also didnt have chives so I substituted with Thyme. Although Chives would have been better, these were still spectacular!!! Also, I greased the muffin pan with vege oil so that they fried the outside a bit. This will be a weekly bake, for sure! I do have to agree with whoever mentioned that the mushroom soup leaves an unusual after taste in your mouth...I'd suggest using real mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peachland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I sell these in my shop. Customers absolutely love them. I make jumbo muffins so I only yield 5 with these. Also, I bake them for 20 minutes exactly and they always turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States