Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is excellent. Instead of bacon, I used half a 12oz packaged sausage and only 1/3 cup of oil. I also skipped the sour cream and increased the amount to about 3/4 cup. I didn't have chives on hand, so I used 3 stalks of fresh green onion. They are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Made these for dinner tonight with one adjustment. Swapped sour cream for the mushroom soup. Just couldn't figure out what I would do with the rest of the can! They turned out great but I wouldn't call them muffins. They're more like a biscuit - but a pretty tasty one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Great flavor. Heavy like a pound cake texture. I made mini muffins, and admit they are addicting, however, next time I'll probably cut out the soup or reduce the oil to make them lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
These were great with potato soup...also for breakfast...and for snacking in between! I also figured, if you're going to do it, go all the way, so I added more bacon, used melted butter in place of the oil and added more cheese. Wow, these are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These are extremely popular in my house! I've used several different kinds of cheese (whateve I have on hand -- guyere to pepper jack) and it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Great tasting muffins! Went well with a bowl of hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Really delicious. I made them with fresh chives, and I also used more bacon as the stuff I had was quite thin, and microwaved down to nothing. I wish I had added a little more salt. Anyway, I will definitely make these again - I like the suggestion of having them with scrambled eggs. Thanks, Shelley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Really great recipe. Wonderful combination of flavours. I gotta say, I never woulda though to use mushroom soup in muffins, but it works very well. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
These were a huge hit at our house. To lower the fat content I used Cabot 50% lower fat cheddar, egg beaters, skim milk and 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup. To increase the flavor I used 1/4 cup of snipped fresh chives. I think the fresh chives really made this dish and if you have them available I would strongly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States