Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I liked this recipe, first time used ham cut very small and fresh chive, used the other reviewers suggestions. I had to take a savoury finger food to a shower so made them in mini muffin tins, cooking time was 14 min. I have now made them again in the mini muffin tins and have frozen them. The second time the change I made for the mini tin was lower the cooking temperature to 375, about 18-20min, depending how big they were. I felt they were moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kim m
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I didn't have mushroom soup or chives so I added two Tbsp knorr leek soup mix to 1c milk. Instead of oil, I added bacon grease. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
It was easy to make I'll give it that. Needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I liked it but the sugar over powered the savory taste. But, I ended up using turkey bacon which is no where close to the real thing. Real bacon may have helped tone down the sugaryness. Brown sugar instead of white maybe a better option for less sweetness. I shall try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious! I used turkey bacon, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, cream of chicken (all out of mushroom) and olive oil (1/4 cup). And it still turned out great. Next time i will try with cream of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Amazing! I made it for my home group and everyone loved them and wanted more! After reading other reviews I also substituted sour cream for the cream of mushroom soup and put in less garlic and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
so I used sour cream instead of the CoM soup, butter instead of the veg oil, and 8tsp fresh chives instead of the 4tsp dried. Baked about 23 minutes - smelled wonderful! They were a bit denser than I was expecting, but hubby likes biscuits better than muffins so no problem there. He thought they were okay, I thought they were slightly above average. Overall, I wasn't impressed... took me probably 30 minutes of prep, and the end result just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Bland and I followed the recipe exactly. Very disappointing to both me and my husband. Will not be making these again. And what do you do with the other half a can of soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Holy -ola. These are delicious. I used sour cream instead of the cream of mushroom soup. Also, I left out the chives and Parmesan because I didn't have any. Soooo moist and full of flavor, excellent! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
First, here are the changes I made following other reviewers advice. I used no oil. Instead I added 1/4 cup each of milk and sour cream. I also substituted sour cream for the mushroom soup, so instead of 1/2 cup each COM soup and milk, I added a total of 3/4 cup each sour cream and milk. I also cut the garlic powder to about 3/4 tsp. I love garlic, but if I'm having this for breakfast, I didn't want to be overwhelmed by it. Personally I liked these a lot. They reminded me a lot of the Cheddar Bay Biscuits you get at Red Lobster but with bacon. My Husband agrees. My kids however...not so much. For them I think it was more of a texture thing (the tops are a little crunchy from the baked cheese). My children are young, 5, 3, 2. Maybe older children would appreciate them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States