Bacon Breakfast Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jill Drake Smith
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I crumbled the bacon and use a Bundt pan. The batter was very watery and it took much longer than the 15-20 minutes suggested to bake. The look and taste are good but the cake is a bit too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Drake Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This tastes really good! I'm kind of a klutz in the kitchen...as per my usual, I didn't grease the bundt pan well enough. I thought the bacon would bring its own grease but it carmelized nicely with the brown sugar. Some of the cake stuck to the sides as well, so I had to piece it back together and scrape out the bacon from the pan to set back on top. To hide my big mess I made a maple glaze. In a pan on medium heat, cook 2 tbsp butter, 1/4 cup maple syrup, one cup of confectioners sugar. Whisk until smooth, drizzle over the cake. It hid all my imperfections and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe is so good ! I made it on Christmas morning. After the kids opened their presents, they went straight for the cake. The bacon came out chewy and crisp, and the cake super moist and sweet. This is my fav and my kid's fav breakfast ! Serve with maple syrup and extra fried bacon if desired :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
must have done something wrong, bacon was soggy and unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe for my fiance who loves bacon. I made it for him for his birthday. He loved it. I also made it for his family for christmas and it was a big hit. It taste like bacon and pancakes. So good. I also cut up two pieces of bacon and put it in the batter. Will be making this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was great but I did make a few changes. I used yellow cake mix instead of white, added 1/2 tsp. Cinnamon and 1 tsp. Vanilla extract to the mix. I took other's advice and cut the bacon into 1 inch strips before frying and fried til crispy. I added about 8 strips into the mix but used the rest as stated in the original recipe. I sprinkled the finished cake with powdered sugar and served with whipped cream and fresh fruit. Made this as my daughter's birthday breakfast and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Maia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I made this cake for a party and it was a BIG hit!!! My modifications: >Crumbled bacon and fried til crisp, >Added about 2 slices (crumbled) to the batter, >Made as a Bundt cake (liberally buttered pan), >Used sugar free maple syrup, >Sprinkled Confectioners Sugar on top before serving. It was very moist and tasted wonderful!!! Definitely a do-again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honeoye, New York, USA
Living In: Gates, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Delicious! I used Almond extract, but the syrup masked the flavor.. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I have two dozen guests in the other room and what am I about serve up? A pile of crumbs. I followed the recipe, adding a few bacon bits into the batter as the only difference. I am not a novice cake maker, either; didn't make any rookie errors like over-mixing. Good idea, it just didn't work and now I'm stuck in the kitchen trying desperately to think of a plan B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Aikman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I also crumbled the bacon for the pan and added some to the cake. I went a step further and frosted 2 layers of this cake with buttercream frosting with bacon and maple flavoring added. It was a hit with my bacon loving family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States