Bacon Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
The beans are very sweet and sugary so be careful what you add as a main dish. I made the mistake of making meatloaf which also had a lot of brown sugar and bbq sauce. Other than that the beans were great. I didn't have enough pans to make it in so I did it on the stove and it was still really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Faulkner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I am not a bake bean lover, Baked Beans are one of my husband's favoite foods. So I decided to try this recipe. It is great. To cut back on the calories, I used Splenda's Brown Sugar Blend. I used half of the sugar that the recipe called for. They turned out great. I'll be eating more baked beans. the apples added a wonderful flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I prepared it for a Memorial Day cookout and friends have been asking me for the recipe ever since. The apples add a special zest to it that makes it really different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is now a favorite that we make every Sunday. I do use the creamy dijon mustard and Splenda brown sugar blend. I feel like I am eating dessert with my meal !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
WOW!!!! These are great! My husband loved them so that makes me happy. Next time I will only use 2tbls. brown sugar. They were just a little too sweet. I paired them with the 'Cowboy Chicken' recipe from this site and it was a great meal. This is one you can WOW your guests with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natchis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I scaled back on the brown sugar (I used Splenda Brown Sugar) and it was still fabulous. The flavor from the bacon and apples was great! 2 thumbs up!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I bought a jumbo size can of pork and beans instead of two smaller ones, and followed the rest of the recipe, except I ran out of ketchup so I used half ketchup half bbq sauce. Brought these to a family gathering and everyone raved about these beans, I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Okay, so my husband and I don't normally like baked beans but this recipe appealed to me because it was different. Easy to pull together. Really easy. My five year old son helped. I found it to be really sweet but my husband tells me that baked beans are supposed to be sweet. I liked them, but if I were to make this dish again, I might use less sugar. Still, it got the whole family to eat baked beans which is always a draw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
These were delicious! I ommitted the Ketchup and they were still fantastic! My husband could not get enough! I had leftovers over toast with cheese this morning for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Nothing but compliments on this side dish to a great ham dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States