Bacon Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I am not a bake bean lover, Baked Beans are one of my husband's favoite foods. So I decided to try this recipe. It is great. To cut back on the calories, I used Splenda's Brown Sugar Blend. I used half of the sugar that the recipe called for. They turned out great. I'll be eating more baked beans. the apples added a wonderful flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I bought a jumbo size can of pork and beans instead of two smaller ones, and followed the rest of the recipe, except I ran out of ketchup so I used half ketchup half bbq sauce. Brought these to a family gathering and everyone raved about these beans, I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was good as a side for our Superbowl food. I cut back on the sugar to 1/2 a cup, and only used 1/2 an onion. Thanks for the post! I really liked the addition of apple to this. It added an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
We loved these beans! I did cut the sugar to 1/2 cup as well as crumbling the bacon into the beans. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
WOW!!!! These are great! My husband loved them so that makes me happy. Next time I will only use 2tbls. brown sugar. They were just a little too sweet. I paired them with the 'Cowboy Chicken' recipe from this site and it was a great meal. This is one you can WOW your guests with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natchis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This recipe was really good. The only change I made was to break up the bacon to fry and put the brown sugar on top of it in the frying pan. As soon as all of the sugar melted I mixed it in. (got this idea from another allrecipe) Big hit at the picnic I brought it to. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Now, I did use Bush's Country Style baked beans, which already have brown sugar in them. Sorry, but these were waaaayyy to sweet for me...and I used only 2 T. brown sugar. I like sweet, but not this sweet. Maybe next time I would try Original...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These came out good, but a little bit tangier than I prefer my baked beans. Next time I'll use less apple. I used onion soup mix instead of fresh onions and added a little bit of garlic powder. When these came out of the oven, I removed the bacon and stirred the beans, as there was a good amount of fat sitting on top. Maybe I didn't pre-cook the bacon long enough to remove enough of the fat? I'll try these again, but probably cook the bacon completely and crumble into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I was worried about using the apple but it gave it a nice texture. I did not add the brown sugar because I used Bush's beans w/brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I prepared it for a Memorial Day cookout and friends have been asking me for the recipe ever since. The apples add a special zest to it that makes it really different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States