Bacon, Asparagus, and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I thought this was good! To lighten it up a bit I used turkey bacon which to me is a GREAT substitute and I didn't have the sourdough bread so I used some rye. Also used fresh asparagus. Great little sandwich and I didn't even miss the mayo! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was really good! However, after reading reviews I decided to use fresh, cooked asparagus rather than canned. I can't imagine this tasting good with canned asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
For someone who never seems to have enough time to eat, let alone cook, I have to say this is a great recipe. It's quick, it's delicious, and I had all the ingredients just laying around. I did add artichoke and parmesan as well, and I used a tiny bit of mayonnaise because the sandwich looked a little dry. As it turns out, it really wasn't as dry as it looked, but the mayo was a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreMagic

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
my roommate is extremely nutrition conscious so this was a great recipe that i could make for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I didn't like these. I've had asparagus a few tiomes before at resturants and liked it, so I thought that I'd like these too. I guess it's just the canned asparagus that put me off. If it was fresh asparagus cooked nicely then added to these I'm sure they would taste a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I made these exactly as suggested and was not impressed. I love asparagus, but it was not good in these sandwiches. Canned asparagus stinks, I know, but I have a feeling that they wouldn't have been good with fresh aspargus either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I took these sandwiches to my sisters bridal shower and they were a hit. I followed the recipe just like it is and the only thing I would recommend is to either serve them immediately or heat them in the microwave right before you serve them. When I served them they were pretty cold and it changed the sandwich a little. Overall though they were wonderful and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I made this with fresh asparagus that I simmered for a few minutes in salted boiling water, and then sliced in half. The cheese and bacon was, of course, delicious, but I didn't think the asparagus was a good addition. It was also pretty unwieldy to eat. I'm glad I tried it, but I wouldn't make it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States