Bacon and Swiss Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
First quiche I've ever made, used about 1/2 lb bacon - 6or7 strips worth , less flour, and less milk along with julienned swiss slices. Now use it as my go to quiche recipe and alter it depending on what I have. I've done ham and broccoli, bacon tomato etc. the flour does a nice job holding ingredients in place and absorbing moisture from added ingredients. Sometimes use 5 eggs based on filling quantity, never more than 1 cup milk or half n half, just enough flour to dust add ins and cut down baking time. Usually do 35 to 40 minutes at 375 or so . Thanks for getting me started on quiches! Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Pratt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Loved this -- but like most others, I added 2 more eggs for a deep dish pie. Since it was my 1st time making it, I followed the recipe -- but alas -- reviewers were right again: I'm not sure why the flour! I used just a little and it it was totally unnecessary. I used a great Swiss blend cheese and plenty of it -- but the quiche was still a little bland. Next time, I'll add onions and/or mushrooms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this for our Christmas brunch and it was very good. However, there was floured bacon on top that did not cook into the pie. I see no need for the flour because you don't need it as a thickening agent. Because my family likes bacon, I did use all the recipe called for. The next time I make this I will not use the flour and will instead, put all the bacon on the bottom. I also added an extra egg since mine were rather small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Simple and Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Hubby really liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The ingredients are a little too much because I almost always overfill the pie crust. However it tastes wonderful and I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! I did take others advice and only used 1 pound of bacon and did not coat the bacon in flour (no reason to) But otherwise the quiche was gone in minutes and I had to make another one right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I didn't dredge the bacon in flour. I used fat free half and half in place of evaporated milk for a richer flavor. I added a can of french style green beans drained well for some veggies. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christmasgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe was modified: My hubby, 11 yr. old son (even his freinds!) & I have been loving different kinds quiche for a long time. I used some leftover ham, instead of bacon, from X-Mas dinner (5) eggs instead of (3), and a couple shakes of hot sauce instead the mustard and we loved it! I thought the evaporated milk was a good idea. I've been using cottage cheese for a different texture but the milk was better. This is so relative to the cooks taste. Now if I just could learn a good pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, because we LOVE bacon in our family. However, it really is too much bacon. I suggest only 1lb. of bacon or definitely increase the egg mixture. I would certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States