Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natncody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
thank you for a great recipe!! My husband likes thicker soups so I tweaked it a bit to fit our personal preference! I used 2 cans of broth and 1 can of evaporated milk and before adding the liquids I added some flour to create a thicker soup The red pepper really set this one apart from others I've tried! KUDOS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorpark, California, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My whole family loved this! My son said it was amazing! I added red pepper flakes and tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
It was good and tasty, but I used marble cheese and it did not melt nicely. I also added a splash of cream to make a creamy look. Otherwise its more of a clear soup. It has a nice flavor. Feb 5 2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I just made this soup for the first time and I think it's delicious. I used homemade chicken broth so I may have used a bit more than what was called for. I did remove some of the potatoes and puree some with the broth, but I think this is a personal preference and you can judge for yourself whether you need to puree or not. It's definitely a nice, simple and tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious! I really did try to follow completely but first I realized I only had 2 potatoes, so I used a can of sliced potatoes also (couldnt even tell). Also I didn't discard the bacon grease I used to to saute onions. Everything else I followed except I omitted celery (gross) and at the end I wanted it thicker so I added a combination of corn starch and water. I also didn't measure the cheese just put a ton in because we love cheesiness. :) Sooo yummy and easy for a quick winter lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Delicious, made this wonderful soup after hours of snowshoveling, it was great. Followed a reviewer's tip and used milk instead of water to reconsitute stock. I can't get low sodium stock right now, so I used regular but omitted salt. Next time I'll also omit red pepper--it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I have never written a review about any of the recipes I have tried on this site, but this was by far the best potato bacon soup, ever. Didn't change a single ingredient other then to add extra carrots, and used my emulsion blender just to puree it slightly, left a few potato chucks. Husband and son loved it, no left overs for work the next day. Plan to make this soup many times over the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This soup is very good. I didn't add the cheese. Instead, I added 2 teaspoons of chicken bullion. I brought the soup to a boil and let is simmer for about 1 1/2 hours. My husband had 3 bowls ...that is saying a lot, he is very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This soup is very flavorful. Sauted the carrots, celery and onions in the bacon grease, giving extra flavour. I simmered the soup with the lid off, thickening the broth. It was not as thick as if I had used cream or milk but was not water runny. I wasn't looking for thick as in creamy. I doubled the recipe, will triple next time. Crumbled the bacon and put on top of soup along with chopped green onions, also added a dolop of sour cream. This recipe is a keeper, will make often specially in the winter time. Thanks for posting. Peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy  BigDogsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States