Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Surprisingly better than expected, as it appeared very thin/liquidy during the cooling process. Potato flakes would be good to thicken. Would be better to use thick bacon. Don't shy away from the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The only thing we do differently is we us an emulsion blender for a bit just before adding the cheese and bacon. My 6 and 9 year old's favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Really good soup, but doesn't need the cheese. That was overkill. Tastes excellent without. Instead of cayenne I used chipotle, which added an extra smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
OMG, I've been searching for this recipe for years (a non-cream potato soup!). It's just like my Baba's from when I was little! I did make a few changes. My Baba used to put vinegar in her soup to ensure the potatos hold together. So I added 2 tsp white vinegar at the same time as the chicken stock. Also, I didn't add the cheddar cheese, she never added cheese and the soup doesn't really need it. I didn't used olive oil either, I just removed enough bacon grease to ensure about 1 tbsp and the drippings were left in the pan to cook the veggies in. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Family loved it! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The only changes that I made was leaving out the cheddar. I also thickened it a little more with corn starch and water. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I think it's important that I state, that I completely followed the recipe. My family loves this soup, that I've used this recipe more than once. When I am short on time I used the frozen cubed potatoes. (note: the potatoes will be done in 5 mins or less). I hope your family enjoys this soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Huge disappointment. My soup did not turn out like the picture. It's like someone forgot a major ingredient or something (flour or starch) because all I had was a clear liquid broth with veges. If you are looking for the average Potato soup you get at restaurants, this is NOT the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe was super easy and super delish. I didn't even use the cayenne for fear of too much heat. I also used a hand blender and pureed the potatoes before serving and adding the bacon. Next day the kids were looking for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I pureed the soup and liked it better than eating chunky potatoes, but that's just personal preference. I let it sit a minute, then put it in the food processor. Fantastic, served with crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States