Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Delicious. The cayenne added a bit too much kick for my family, so I need to decrease the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was just completely delicious. I did as some others did, I cooked the celery, carrots and onion in the bacon grease, added some ham cubes, added 2 tbsp. cornstarch dissolved in 1/2 cup water, 2 cups of milk and a dash of smoked paprika. It's just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Awesome recipe for a chilly winter night! I used both bacon and diced ham from a ham steak. Also, didn't use olive oil, subbed bacon grease. Use a high-quality sharp cheddar cheese and serve with crusty Italian bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I didn't drain all of the bacon grease (left about 1 tbsp) and I used an immersion blender to make the soup creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this last week and everybody in the family loved it. A little watery for my taste, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotmamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I felt this soup was too bland and seemed more like a broth than the hearty soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I love soup. This recipe is very good as is, plus it is ingredients that you would always have on hand. Besides, who doesn't like bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Not really sure what this soup was trying to be. It wasn't creamy at all which made the starchiness of the potatoes stand out. I tried to save it by adding some milk at the end and mashing it up a little, but it didn't help much. The taste was good, but the texture threw me off. I'll go back to my old creamy potato soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Mmmmm....Mmmmmm... good. We found ours a little salty even after using low salt bacon and adding no salt, but we added some cream (as others suggested) and that really made a good thing even better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Loved this soup. My 3 year old couldnt get enough. I added a little ham just because I had it and needed to use it. But didnt need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8shoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States