Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Duh people...this isn't milky and creamy because there isn't any MILK in the ingredient list!! OK, rant over. This soup's ingredient list is perfect as written!!!!!!! I changed the procedure a little bit: I cut the raw bacon into small pieces before frying them in the pan; drained on paper towel. Then I removed all but about 2 tablespoons of the bacon fat and sauteed the veggies in the fat then added the potatoes, stock & pepper. I let the soup simmer for about 45 minutes then used my immersible blender to make it a little smoother, but I did leave a fair amount of potato and carrot pieces. Then I added the bacon pieces. I served it into bowls with cheese on the side to add on the top of the soup. NO salt was added, and I used Knorr Chicken Stock...which was not low-salt. Next time I would use a low-salt stock or broth as the husband and I agreed that it was a bit salty (my own fault). The recipe is a keeper...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made the recipe as written, except I left out the celery because I don't like it and I decided after I'd put everything in the broth that my potatoes weren't cut small enough, so I ended up chunking them up with a potato masher. I thought the recipe was delicious as written. I'm not sure why anyone who read the title, description or ingredients would have been expecting a cream of potato soup, so I don't get all the "the soup wasn't creamy" complaints. It is clearly a broth based soup and a good one imo. I'm sure there are plenty of cream of potato soup recipes out there and this one could be converted if someone was determined to do so. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Made the soup according to the drections. It was good but not great. Broth very thin and runny. I much prefer ham and potato soup with a thick cream broth. This soup definitely needs "something" to liven it up. It's almost like eating a very thin beef stew (without the beef). It was good but I will most likely not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Very tasty, thick, and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This soup was great. My husband loved the large chunks of potato and the cayenne was subtle but necessary. I didn't change a thing and will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
One 'stalk' of celery, or one 'rib'? 5 cups of celery seems extreme for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Followed Recipe but added a little cur-cumin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julie g
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I used chicken bouillon instead of broth! Adds so much flavor! And a little more cheese! Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bruzebra
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Enjoyed this, family seemed to think it was Just OK though. Complaint was the bacon was soggy, maybe I should have used it as a topping? Picky, picky. They had no problem cleaning their bowls LOL. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I made this soup and it was delish! I made two minor adjustments: I cleaned the pan after cooking the bacon, and I took out some, not all, of the potatoes and chicken broth and blended it together until it was creamy, then poured it back into the pot. Topped it off with the cheese and bacon! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States