Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I pureed the soup and liked it better than eating chunky potatoes, but that's just personal preference. I let it sit a minute, then put it in the food processor. Fantastic, served with crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
We loved it, but we blended it all and added cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is a nice light potato soup. I used some of the bacon grease as someone had suggested and have a hand blender, blending about half the potatoes to give it a nice auburn, yellow color. I also used regular chicken stock and regular Cheddar cheese to add to the flavor and center-cut bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This dish is fantastic. my family loved it. although i did change it up a bit. i added flour and mash potato flakes to thicken it up, I also tossed the onions, carrots, & celery into a blender to make them super tiny. (my family hates veggies) it was an absolute success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicamarie2317

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I just made this for our Sunday Night Dinner. It definitely was a hit. This recipe is very versatile for other types of soups - i.e., turning it into a lentil soup, or even add Bulgar in. We are not fan's of Cayanne Pepper and would not add it in next time. Very fulfilling and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Wow, this was so good! It tasted like it had been cooking all day, amazing! I used turkey bacon and fat free chicken broth to make it a little healthier. Next time I'm going to throw in some cloves of garlic with the onion to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Lots more cheese and lots more cayenne spice...just our preference...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I made this without the celery (didn't have any) or cheese (lactose intolerant), but added some chopped parsley alongside the potatoes, and cooked the onion and carrot in a bit of leftover bacon grease instead of oil. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Made this today for lunch for me and my husband. Turned out pretty good. Only problems with it were cooking error(I put too much salt in) Only thing I changed about the recipe was I omitted onions, since we aren't big into them, and added half a cup of milk to give it a creamier taste. Tasted great. Despite there being a little too much salt in it, it was still edible and tasty, we each had two bowls worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
A good hearty winter comfort soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States