Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Really good soup. Even my picky non soup eaters loved it and went back for more. I did use my hand mixer and slightly puréed it before adding the bacon and cheese but that was the only change made. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I doubled the amount of bacon and celery and threw in a good amount of fresh minced garlic. To make it a cream soup, I cut the amount of chicken broth back by a half cup and added in a half cup of evaporated milk. It is a thinner soup than I expected but the flavor was very good. We ate every bit of this soup for lunch, paired with ham sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was a hit! Everyone went back for seconds (luckily I'd doubled it). I really hate when people "change" the recipe, but I did. I added 1 can of rinsed white beans pureed with some of the chicken broth to add more protein and I also added chopped up kale, about 3 cups, to add some more veggies. My daughter-in-law and granddaughter hate beans and never knew they were there. Just makes a bit thicker broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Fantastic! I sauteed the onion and celery in the bacon fat. Used 2 c beef broth, 2 c chicken broth. Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This soup is delicious, very hearty and flavorful. I went by other reviews, and pureed half the soup in the blender, leaving some chunks of potatoes and other vegetables. Also, I added the shredded cheddar cheese when I served the soup, garnishing with parsley. I served grand biscuits and a salad with it. It was the perfect meal, as we had a blizzard yesterday, and spent a good part of the day TRYING to shovel out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I also loosely pureed the soup with an immersion blender leaving some large piece of vegetable. It gave it a very creamy consistency. My daughter said it was just like Panera Breads! That is high praise from her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My kids ate this up and that is saying a lot since they are picky about what they eat. All the flavors come together and make this a great soup for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Tasty!- made recipe as written + garlic (just because it is my best friend) Pureed when done. Second day I added a dollop of sour cream and some green onions to the top fabulous...but that is what happens when all my favorite ingredients come together :) thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Different from any I had eat but I loved it. Will eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very good soup. Made exactly like recipe using an immersible blender to thicken up the soup. I used more cayenne pepper, but would stick with the 1/8 teaspoon. Had company for lunch and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States