Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I thought this was pretty good - not my favorite, but good enough to make again. I was out of celery (and don't care for it much anyway) so I threw in a handful of fresh chopped parsley and that was a nice addition. I also added a couple extra pieces of bacon (obviously). And after the potatoes had simmered, I mashed them lightly with a potato masher, leaving plenty of chunks but mashing just enough to give it extra thickness and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo-Anne
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Yummy! I forgot how much I love soups until today. Followed the recipe. Only 1 thing I did differently was added shredded cheese to the bowl of hot soup rather than the whole mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
The base of this soup was great, creamy and sweet to offset the bacon taste. However, do not use peppered bacon. It does not bode well in this particular soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Incredible taste!! best soup I've made in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Boyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This was AMAZING!! I doubled it for my family (my parents and siblings) of six and the pot was scraped clean! I did six slices of bacon as opposed to twelve because bacon is pricy, but they were long slices and I thought it was a nice ratio to the soup (though you can always have more bacon :P). I did make a few changes. I eyeballed the onion to my taste, used chili powder instead of cayenne pepper, sauted the veggies in the leftover bacon grease, and used a stick blender to make it just a tad thicker. It was AWESOME! Thanks so much for the recipe, I will definitely be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eponine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AiliDeSpain
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This soup is really good. I like the fact that adding the bacon back at the end makes it stay crispy which is good. I used purple potatoes. Whole family loved it, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AiliDeSpain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I put cream cheese instead of cheddar cheese. This was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wylie-Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Great recipe AS IS! Made exactly as written and didn't even have any leftovers to put away. I've made this several times already and will definitely make again. I love potato soup and this is an awesome one! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Absolutely delicious with some changes!! Changes: Used the bacon grease instead of olive oil, use a whole medium yellow onion, 3 carrots, and 2 celery stalks, and about 7 white potatoes; Added a bit of minced garlic when the veggies were cooking; used black pepper instead because we don't like spicy; added some milk and used a mashed to smoosh some of the potatoes before adding the cheese to thicken it a little, added more cheese (monterey jack) and bacon because that's what we like. It was still soupy and not a "creamy" type of soup, filled with veggies that weren't mushy but just right. will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
One of my favorite soups to make! The entire family loves it. I get a loaf of sour dough bread from Panera bread to go along with it and there are never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States