Bacon and Parmesan Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
A quick and easy dinner idea. I took on Johnsonville's challenge of substituting a protein in a 6-ingredient or less recipe with one of their sausages. I chose to substitute the bacon with their Sweet Italian Sausage. I loved the ease of this recipe. It was on the table in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This recipe is absolutely amazing. I took a couple of chicken breasts and cubed them. Then cooked them through and added it to the pasta. I've also added other shredded cheese to it in addition to the Parmesan. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe was alright, but the flavors were fairly bland. I took the suggestion of some other reviewers and added garlic cloves, a bit of garlic powder, and some black pepper. My fiancé likes a little more kick, so I suggested that he also add paprika. I also threw in a bit of pecorino romano. In the future, I would also add diced tomatoes to make it a little more interesting in both texture and flavor. Overall, a decent basic idea, but needs some work to make it a meal worth eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe with my modifications. I cooked bacon separately first in a skillet. Then I scooped cooked bacon out and sautéed onion and about 3 cloves minced fresh garlic in bacon drippings. I also added a can of diced Italian tomatoes and salt and pepper to taste to the cooked onion. Finally, after incorporating the pasta and onion mixture and olive oil, I sprinkled on some parsley and basil. Wonderful for some extra color and flavor. I will be making this dish again. Thank you SusieQ for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My family loves this dish! I am adding a few diced tomatoes just prior to serving to add a little acidity as it is a very rich meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe was easy and good. I really appreciate how easy it was to modify it and make it for only one serving. There just aren't enough meals built for one! I changed it up a bit so I feel bad reviewing it based on my method but here goes. I fried 2 slices of whole bacon first (so it could cool and I could crumble it more easily) and then sauteed the onion in the bacon fat. I added garlic powder, black pepper, and dried basil to the onions. After mixing it all together, I found the end result quite good. I often have leftover bacon and I always keep the other ingredients on hand, so I expect to cook this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Not very exciting. Might be worth trying with some sort of pasta sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made this the other night and my husband loved it! I did add a little salt and pepper to taste and will add garlic next time because I'm a firm believer that garlic makes everything better. The absolute best part of this recipe is it's sheer simplicity--quick and easy works best in our busy household and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Tasty, easy, yummy dinner. :-). I omitted the onions and threw some minced garlic into the bacon instead. Also, I put approx. 2 cups of frozen peas into the boiling water when I added the pasta. It made a simple, but enjoyable, dinner. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I just made this a few days ago and I LOVED it! I'm not big on red sauces, but I do love both bacon and parmesan so this sounded good to me. At first I wasn't sure about it, but after a few bites I realized how in love with it I was. And I still loved it a few days later as leftovers. I did, however, change a few things like some of the other reviewers mentioned. I cooked the bacon first, and when it was almost done I put in the onions, and I also added some garlic. I'll definitely be making this again. Quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States