Bacon and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for Father's Day. And I thought it was good. One review said they used an oblong glass baking dish and sprinkled the bacon and tomato on top. I mixed the tomato in, but I did use a glass baking dish to serve and added the bacon on top and it just looked so good! Once I placed it on the table, everyone said it looked amazing and they couldn't wait to try. Everyone liked or loved it. But my husband was adding mayonnaise to his sandwich and then used the spoon on his salad and said the mayonnaise tasted amazing w/the salad. However, as people were taking up leftovers (it makes a lot), I told them what my husband said and they said they wouldn't change a thing. I will make this again, it is crowd pleasing. My personal opinion was that it is simply good. Nothing more or less. But others loved it. And that's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Even though the bacon did get soggy the next day, this is still an exceptional salad recipe. I used an English cucumber and black olives. Next time I might try the green olives. I made this for a baby shower and everyone loved it. I am eating the leftovers and enjoying every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Made this for a family BBQ. Adult and kids all loved it. I made a couple changes: used grape tomatoes (no seeding required), omitted olives (1/2 family doesn't like them, would have made a nice addition), added green pepper. At first I didn't add all the dressing, after refrigerated overnight, it was a bit dry. I added remaining dressing, perfect. The more veggies the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I love this recipe, wouldn't change a thing. Add some shrimp, makes it even better. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I used the dressing and omitted the eggs, olives and cucumbers. these would have been good in the salad but I made other sides that had eggs and cucumbers so did not want same ingredients. Served at a graduation party and everyone loved it. Should have doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is the best pasta salad I have ever made. I have tried it the way it was written (omitting the olives as I don't like them) and it was very good but its even better when you add diced red onion. The egg I have found is optional. Use whatever pasta you have in the house - it all works, I think shells are my favorite. Note: this needs to sit in order for the flavors to blend, at first I thought the cider vinegar had ruined it but after it sat for a couple hours it was delicious! Thanks for the great recipe, I've never received so many compliments on a pasta salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Good recipe. I loved the bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
didn"t try it myself but everyone canoeing thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is a nice variation on a mac salad. The bacon, tomato and olives are a nice combination. I didn't like the cucumber in the this - it added water and a flavor that seemed a little out of place with the rest of the ingredients. The dressing recipe is a standard for me. I start with the mayo and sour cream and then add the rest a bit at a time until I get the taste and consistency that I like. I generally add dill to this dressing and will do that next time for this salad. I know that a lot of people want to add cheese to a mac salad. While it's all up to personal taste, of course, this is one that I think works better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States