Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have made something similar to this. I am gluten sensitive so I just make the filling. I use silicon muffin pan and they come out great. I find that this is a recipe that you can adjust very easily. If you have ham, use ham. If you have leftover veggies, add that. I found a broccoli slaw (grated broccoli, cabbage and grated carrot)for $0.99 at my local grocer. I used that with a bit of bacon. If I make these for a brunch, I will make both with the crust and without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I use packaged, frozen puff-pastry tart shells. Scramble the eggs with a little milk, and fold-in diced smoked Scottish Salmon, minced Shallots, rinsed nonpariel capers and chopped Escargot. Top with grated Gruyere cheese. Sprinkle with dried Fines Herbes....serve with chilled Vouvrey, or Champagne, and a crisp Romaine-heart salade with garlic, oil and champagne vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked Uncle Keith

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious:-)I made my own pie crust, and it was a little too greasy, so I kept them in the muffin pans for all of the time, and didn't take them out until serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenbaker98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These were pretty good. I misread the ingredients when I was at the store and got pre-made pie crust. I just cut the pie shell into fours and cut off most of the excess. I cooked the pie crust according to package directions then added the filling before cooking again. I did as others suggested and scrambled everything and put it the tarts. They taste like mini quiches. I think I would try this again, possibly with bacon, parmesan or broccoli and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used a frozen pie shell that I had on hand and used a biscuit cutter to make little tarts. I cooked these in a muffin tin. I took the advice of another reviewer and just beat the eggs like scrambled eggs together with the cheese, milk and I used regular bacon and just poured this into the little tart crusts. My husband practically inhaled these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Not really what I was hoping for. The pie crust didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
well I didn't have pie crust so I used whole wheat biscuit recipe from allrecipes which is wonderful. I beat eggs, tomatoes and onions together, salt and pepper and baked the biscuits in muffin tins which were too small. After they cooked for about 8 min. i took them out of the oven made holes in the center and filled the holes with the filling and filled the tops also, then i sprinkled with cheese. I Put the holes in the other muffin tins to bake. I also only had enough bread for 4 muffins so with the remaining mixture I just put it in a muffin tin and its an omlette tart for all of your guests who are wheat or gluten sensitive. Love this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I've made this before but using wholemeal bread instead of pie pastry. I rolled the bread with a pin to remove all air in it and compress the bread into a thin bread sheet, fold the bread sheet into the muffin tray and brushed it with butter before cracking the egg in it with bacon/ham and cheese. Sprinkle the top with nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Nice idea, though, but Ithink I'll try a shortcut. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have made these for years but use ready made large size biscuits that you separate in three layers and put into muffin tins Other wise they are the same. I will try the pie crust and see which I like better. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States