Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
These are delicious! My sister-in-law makes them for me every Christmas. She uses pecans instead of almonds and they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Amazing! I collected recipes during the year to make for Christmas 2001. I had an open house for several days and needed prepare-ahead recipes that I could pop in the oven or in the fryer as my guests arrived. My first batch of dates I tried as the recipe called for, in the oven. Cooking by this method made the bacon unevenly cooked. My husbad tried one and didn't care for the sweetness of the date. I almost chucked the whole heap of bacon wrapped dates and called it "a lesson learned". The next day I had the wok with hot oil cooking crab puffs and I decided to try deep frying a batch of the dates. It made a HUGE difference in the flavor and texture of the dates! My husband thought they were delicious now! They were no longer super sweet and the bacon was cooked evenly. I asked my closest friends to rate the appetizers from most favorite to least (I had at least a dozen to choose from) and these were number one with most of my fussy eaters. They're one of the best for making ahead and keeping in the fridge until ready to cook. I used a can of Diamond-A toasted and salted almonds. Because the almonds were so small, I was able to stuff two into each date. I will keep this recipe and make again. They're wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I just finished making these, and the recipe is a keeper! I really don't like broiled bacon; it stays too rubbery for my taste. So I put about 3/4 - 1 inch of oil in a large frying pan and fried mine. I did everything the recipe said except for the fact that I fried mine. Also, the recipe doesn't say this, but you have to cut the bacon strips in half (or else buy 2 pounds of bacon, but I think that throws off the balance).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
These are a huge hit at every party we've had. They disappear as soon as we put them out -- some of our friends even wait for them in the kitchen! For variety, I also add a little goat cheese to about half of the batch, and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
My sister's catering company has made these for lots of social event and we've found they come out better if you bake them at 400 for a little longer than broiling them. They cook a little more evenly. They are always a hit at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Been making samples of different appetizers for my annual Xmas Open House and this one will definitely be there! I tried baking a few at 400 degrees, but took too long. So I deep fried (peanut oil) at 350 degrees for a couple minutes. Absolutely fantastic. I used the Blue Diamond Roasted Salted Almonds and wrapped dates in 1/2 slice of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Like another reviewer, I am trying new recipes from this site for my Christmas open house. This was great with a sliver of water chestnut inside the date. (I didn't have any almonds). I think my guests may have it both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I fried them in peanut oil and I received several compliments on how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I had these appetizers at a catered X-mas party this year, and they were awesome! I had to try and make them myself. A tip from the chef at the party was to use good, thick bacon from the deli (not the prepackaged stuff); I tried a little of each type of bacon (just to see) and he was definitely right-the thicker bacon works much better, and I only used about 1/3 of a strip on each date-they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Many here have tried frying in peanut oil. I use the microwave. When making large batches for a party, etc. I will start one batch in the broiler and then rotate the batches to the microwave and the broiler. Microwave really does a great job with bacon, and paper towels absorb the extra grease. They come out great, but there is really no savings in time, especially with a large batch. Love this taste of the sweet dates and the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States